Guidelines for Becoming an Approved Training Vendor
and Obtaining Course Approvals

Background

Administrators of community care facilities must complete an Initial Certification Training
Program (ICTP) to become administrators (unless exempted by statute or regulations),
and must complete continuing education units (CEUS) to renew their administrator
certification for one or more program/facility types:

e Adult Residential Facility (ARF)

e Group Home (GH)

e Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE)

e Short-Term Residential Therapeutic Program (STRTP)

To become an Administrator Certification Section (ACS) approved training vendor of
ICTP or CEU courses for any of the programs, you need to apply separately for each
program and course type (e.g., ARF ICTP vendor, RCFE CEU vendor).

Review the ACS laws and regulations

e Details of the vendor and course approval process are in the California Code of
Regulations (available via the ACS webpage at www.ccld.ca.gov/PG2100.htm) or
the Interim Standards for STRTP, and outlined on the applicable vendor forms
available on the ACS website at www.ccld.ca.gov/PG4912.htm.

e Regulations regarding administrator training and laws governing the ACS are
also available in the Administrator Information section of the ACS website.

Apply to be a vendor

e Complete (both pages) and sign a Vendor Application/ Renewal form LIC 9141
for each proposed vendorship (e.g., for each program type and course type).

¢ Include with the application a check or money order payable to the California
Department of Social Services for the applicable nonrefundable processing fee
($150 for an ICTP vendorship or $100 for a CEU vendorship).

e Mail your complete application package and fee to ACS (see contact info below).

Apply for course approval

e If applying for an ICTP vendorship, include your completed and signed Request
for Course Approval LIC 9140 with a detailed course outline covering all the
required topics and hours as specified in the statute and regulations (e.g., see
regs Section 84090 for GH, 85090 for ARF, or 87785 for RCFE, or Interim
Standards for STRTP), and, for RCFEs, the required subtopics in the RCFE Core
of Knowledge Standard. (Recommended subtopics for ARF, GH and STRTP
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ICTPs are listed below each required main topic in their respective Core of
Knowledge Guidelines available on the ACS website.

e If applying for a CEU vendorship, you may submit a completed Request for
Course Approval LIC 9140 for each proposed course at the same time but you
may also submit the course request(s) later during your approved two-year
vendorship term.

e For every course, use the checklist on the LIC 9140 to ensure your package is
complete.

e For every course be sure your outline includes:

o Hour by hour detail of content
o Main topics and subtopics

o Qualified instructor(s)

o Breaks or meal times

e For every course also include details on any planned teaching aids and how they
relate to the course content and objectives, and, for example:

o Forvideos include the title, date and publisher; the duration; and planned
discussion questions

o Forrole play, include the time to be spent, roles provided, planned
discussion questions, and copies of handouts (if applicable)

o For case studies, include the planned time to be spent, a copy of the
study, and planned discussion questions

o For group discussion/question and answer periods, include a couple of the
planned questions and anticipated answers to initiate the discussion

e Submit course requests at least 60 days prior to the proposed course offering to
allow adequate time for review and revisions. The course may not be offered for
administrator ICTP or CEU credit until it is approved by ACS.

Vendor and course application processing

e ACS is required to review a request (application) for vendor or course approval
within 30 days of receiving it.

e ACS may request additional detail to clarify the course content or use of teaching
aids (e.g., copies of handouts, Power Point presentations).

e If arequestis incomplete, the vendor has 30 days from receipt of the ACS’
incomplete notice to submit the missing information.

e The ACS will notify the vendor of vendorship or course approval or denial within
30 days of receipt of a complete request.

¢ Requests not completed within this timeframe may be denied or deemed
withdrawn.

e Vendorships are approved for a two-year period, and courses are approved to
expire at the same time as the vendorship term.
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Vendor and course numbers

e At the time of vendorship approval, vendors will be assigned a unique 11-digit
vendor number where the first seven digits identify the vendor, the second three
digits identify the program type (e.g., “725” for STRTP, “730” for GH, “735” for
ARF, “740” for RCFE), and the last digit identifies the vendorship type (“1” for
ICTP, “2” for CEU).

e Similarly, when a course is approved it is assigned a unique 12-digit number
where the first three digits identify the vendor, the next two digits identify the
approved course hours, the following two digits identify the course category in
the ACS database, and the last five digits identify the specific course.

Change of instructors

e Before adding a new or replacing an approved instructor for an approved ICTP
or continuing education course, submit a complete, signed Request to Add or
Replace Instructor form LIC 9140A for ACS approval.

e ACS will notify you of approval or denial normally within 30 days.

To renew a current vendorship and course(s)

e Submit a completed Vendor Application/ Renewal form LIC 9141 and the
applicable non-refundable processing fee, at least 30 days prior to the
vendorship expiration to ACS (and if you’re renewing or updating multiple
courses submit the requests 60 — 90 days prior to expiration to avoid gaps in
course approvals during which you cannot offer the course for CDSS
administrator credit). Include:

o For ICTPs and for any continuing education courses with planned
updates, a completed form LIC 9140 with the required attachments

o For continuing education programs, the completed Renewal of Continuing
Education Course Approval form LIC 9139 to renew current courses that
are not being modified or updated.

e If you have multiple vendorships, submit a separate application and the
applicable fee for each one to be renewed.

e Note: If you do not have one or more currently approved courses at the time your
vendorship is expiring, you may not renew your vendorship. And course renewal
requests received after the course expiration date will be denied, requiring the
vendor submit the course for new approvals using LIC 9140.

e As noted above, allow 30 days for ACS to review your renewal requests and
notify you of anything missing or of approval or denial.

Course development reminders!
e AnICTP is approved for a single program type and not co-located as the

requirements differ significantly by program area.
e ICTPs should be broken into no more than 8- or 10-hour per day segments.
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e Continuing education courses are to be developed in full-hour increments with
the instructional content detailed by hour in the required course outline (see form
LIC 9140 and sample outline).

e The content of continuing education courses must clearly fit one or more subjects
in the applicable program area’s (e.g., ARF, GH, RCFE) required Core of
Knowledge.

e If you plan to co-locate a continuing education course for multiple program types
(e.g., RCFE and ARF), a separate form LIC 9140 and course outline must be
completed for each of the program types and submitted to ACS at the same time.
Note that co-located courses may be approved for differing hours depending on
topical content.

e For proposed online courses, with your Request for Course Approval (LIC 9140),
provide the ACS with a log-on and password to review the draft online course.

e An online course should take a participant the amount of hours to complete that
it's approved for and be interactive as required by statute and regulations.

ACS Contact Information

California Department of Social Services
Administrator Certification Section

744 P Street, MS 9-14-47

Sacramento, CA 95814

Email: AdminCertinfo@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 653-9300
Fax: (916) 654-1808
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