
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
  

 
 

The INSIDER 
FALL 2015 

 
 
Welcome to the latest Administrator Certification Section (ACS) Insider!  Our continuing 
goal is to share timely and relevant information about issues that affect the California 
Department of Social Services (CDSS), Community Care Licensing Division (CCLD) 
certified facility administrators and training vendors.   
 
Please review and share this ACS Insider with members of your organization, as well as 
with others interested in vendor or administrator certification information.  We look 
forward to continuing to publish the Insider quarterly to strengthen partnerships with 
vendors and administrators.   

   
HIGHLIGHTS OF THIS EDITION INCLUDE: 

 

 Legislation and Regulations Update 

 ACS Fall Activities  

 Important Updates and Information for Administrators 

 Tips and Tools for Training Vendors 

 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and Best Practices  
 

LEGISLATION AND REGULATIONS UPDATE   
 

The text of proposed, pending, and prior legislation can be viewed at 
www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.html.  Summaries of prior years’ chaptered legislation related 
to Community Care Licensing are available at www.ccld.ca.gov/PG3063.htm 
 
As noted in prior issues of the Insider, the ACS is in the process of updating applicable 
sections of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) to align with recently enacted 
legislation and to clarify existing requirements.  The 45-day written public comment 
period concluded at 5 p.m. September 16, 2015 and then we will prepare the final 
package.  You can find a link to the notice and documents and watch for further 
information on the ACS and CDSS websites.  The proposed changes are planned to 
take effect January 1, 2016 to coincide with last year’s legislative changes. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.html
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG3063.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/TheInsider/Fall2014.pdf
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG4809.htm
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 The ACS has been tidying up its website at http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm to 
make it easier for administrators and vendors to find the information they need, 
including important notices and other news items.  Please review it regularly to keep 
informed on ACS topics! 
 

 The ACS Advisory Committee (ACSAC) met again in May to continue its work of 
reviewing and revising the Core of Knowledge for the Adult Residential Facilities 
Core of Knowledge.  The draft revision that resulted is included in the regulations 
update noted above and also posted in the Vendor Information section of the 
website.  The ACSAC minutes are also now posted on the ACS website. 
 

 ACS staff continue to monitor vendors’ administrator training courses.  See the 
“Tips” section below for several “do’s and don’ts” noted from these reviews.  
Vendors should respond promptly when contacted by their analyst for information 
and to schedule a course review. 

 

 
IMPORTANT UPDATES AND INFORMATION FOR ADMINISTRATORS   

 

 Individuals who have started the RCFE administrator certification process prior to 
January 1, 2016 (40-hour Initial Certification Training Program – ICTP) must pass 
the associated RCFE administrator certification examination prior to January 1, 2016 
in order for the 2015 laws and regulations to apply (i.e., 40-hour ICTP and 40-
question RCFE Administrator Certification Examination).   (See the ACS Notice on 
“Changes in RCFE Law” at http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG4796.htm.) 

 

 Administrators are reminded that even though a training vendor is approved as a 
vendor by CDSS or another California state agency does not mean its courses are 
all approved for CCL facility administrator CEU credit.  (Many vendors serve a wide 
range of clientele so offer a wide variety of courses.)  When registering, 
administrators should confirm with the vendor that the class they plan to take is 
approved for California residential facility administrators and for the applicable type 
of facility (i.e., ARF, GH or RCFE). 
.   

 Administrators are reminded that there are laws and regulations to protect 
client/resident confidentiality and thus are cautioned about providing confidential 
information regarding residents to consultants assisting with facility operations.  
Some relevant sections of the Health and Safety Code include:  1557.5, 1569.269, 
1569.315, and 1568.08.   

 

 The Department of Labor (DOL) recently initiated a new web-based labor 
compliance training tool that’s live and open to questions and answers.  For more 
information see http://6beds.org/2015/05/24/new-dol-web-based-labor-compliance-

ACS FALL ACTIVITIES 

http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG4793.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG4796.htm
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1550-1557.5
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1569.261-1569.269
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1569.30-1569.39
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1568.01-1568.094
http://6beds.org/2015/05/24/new-dol-web-based-labor-compliance-training-tool-littlers-labor-compliance-model-coming-soon/
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training-tool-littlers-labor-compliance-model-coming-soon/   (Note this is not a 
training approved for administrator CEU credit but for general information.) 

 

 Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) information related to 
inspections of care facilities is available at 
https://www.osha.gov/dep/enforcement/inpatient_insp_06252015.html 

 
  TIPS AND TOOLS FOR TRAINING VENDORS 

 

 Vendors are reminded to submit complete requests for vendorship or course 
approvals or renewals.  Incomplete requests substantively slow the review process.   
 

 By September 30, 2015, all existing RCFE ICTP vendors should submit to ACS for 
review their proposed 80-hour RCFE ICTPs for use beginning January 1, 2016 to 
allow adequate time for ACS review.  To ensure a seamless transition, ACS will no 
longer accept applications for new 40-hour RCFE ICTPs after October 31, 2015 as 
only 80-hour RCFE ICTPs can be offered as of January 1.  (See the ACS Notice on 
“Changes in RCFE Law.”) 
  

 ACS recommends that RCFE ICTP vendors not offer 40-hour RCFE ICTPs after 
October 31, 2015, in order to provide course participants with up to 60 days to take 
and pass the current RCFE administrator certification exam before December 31, 
2015.  (See the ACS Notice on “Changes in RCFE Law.”) 
 

 Vendors interested in providing on-line courses are encouraged to structure them 
in one- to two-hour blocks.  ACS has found that longer on-line courses are too long 
to hold participants’ attention and interaction, and thus do not really provide the 
hours of instruction intended.  As an alternative to a longer course on a given topic, 
vendors might offer a course in multiple parts (e.g., Food Service Part 1, Part 2 ...).  
Vendors should submit new or updated on-line courses proposals to their ACS 
analyst for review and approval at least sixty days prior to planned use of the course.   
 

 Vendors are reminded that to be a facility administrator an individual must be at least 
21 years old (see H&SC section 1522.41(d)(5) re: Group Homes, 1562.4(a) re: 
ARFs or 1569.613(a) re: RCFEs.  Vendors are encouraged to remind potential 
ICTP-participants of that fact before signing them up for an ICTP. 
 

 Continuing education program vendors are reminded that the Department does not 
have the authority to give CDSS-approval for a vendor’s courses or programs 
offering a certificate under another entity’s requirements (e.g., “American Red 
Cross CPR Certificate”).  Such course certificates should not include the CDSS 
vendor number.  

 

 ACS is no longer accepting courses approved by the National Association of Long-
Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB) and other entities whose course approval 
and enforcement processes do not fulfill ACS requirements.  Vendors should keep 

http://6beds.org/2015/05/24/new-dol-web-based-labor-compliance-training-tool-littlers-labor-compliance-model-coming-soon/
https://www.osha.gov/dep/enforcement/inpatient_insp_06252015.html
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG4796.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG4796.htm
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1520-1526.8
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1560-1564
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1569.60-1569.696
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abreast of the notices and administrator information on the ACS website and be sure 
any related information provided on their own websites is current and correct. 

 

 California County Offices of Education provide English as a Second Language (ESL) 
classes for a nominal fee.  Often these classes can help prospective administrators 
improve upon communication skills.   Vendors are encouraged to share information 
on these classes with course participants.  See http://www.cde.ca.gov/re/sd/co/.   
 

 A Dozen Key Do’s and Don’ts: 
o DO provide your course schedules to your ACS vendor analyst when requested.  

Failure to do so may result in a monitoring finding. 
o DO follow the approved course outline to cover all course topics as planned and 

approved. 
o DO start and end courses on schedule and provide the approved hours of course 

instruction, including the required hours of instruction in each ICTP topic area. 
o DON’T overlook recently added ICTP topics (e.g., LGBT awareness). 
o DO use a variety of teaching methods and materials, not just lecture, as 

approved in your course outline. 
o DON’T  use outdated materials (e.g., old Technical Support Guides), interject 

personal biases, or provide inaccurate information (e.g., ACS exam schedules). 
o DO ensure the training space is quiet and conducive to learning. 
o DON’T use instructors not pre-approved by ACS. 
o DO evaluate course participants and ensure they are following the instruction 

material. 
o DO have course participants evaluate the course and instructor(s). 
o DO keep all your administrator course records (including course schedules, 

descriptions, sign-in sheets/rosters, evaluations, lists of instructors and their 
resumes) for at least three years after a course is offered and preferably at your 
main office . 

o DON’T mix ACS required records with those kept for other entities or purposes. 
 
SUMMARY   
 
If you have any questions, suggestions, or best practices to share, please call the ACS 
main line at (916) 653-9300 or email Admincertinfo@dss.ca.gov.  You can also visit the 
main CCLD website at http://www.CCLD.ca.gov for CCLD office locations, laws, 
regulations, Information Releases or to learn more about licensing services in general. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original signed by 
 
PAMELA DICKFOSS 
Deputy Director 
Community Care Licensing Division   
 
Attachment  

http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm
http://www.cde.ca.gov/re/sd/co/
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/
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From administrators: 
   
Question:  The check for my administrator certificate renewal was cashed but I haven’t 
received my certificate.  What happened? 
 
Response:  The checks are cashed upon receipt pursuant to State accounting 
requirements, but due to the high volume, review of administrator applications (both 
initial and renewals) may not currently begin for 45 – 90 days.  To see where your 
application is in the process, please check the information on the ACS website at 
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm.  Please don’t call ACS (916-653-9300) until after the 
likely receipt date of your application is posted there.   
 
Question:  I took classes from the American Red Cross on first aid.  Why didn’t they 
count toward my CEU requirement?  
 
Response:  Basic First Aid and CPR courses fulfill a separate training requirement in 
facility law and regulations so cannot also be counted toward administrators’ continuing 
education. 
 
 
From training vendors: 
 
Question:  My business is changing its name.  What do I need to file with ACS?  
 
Response:  Your vendorship is approved by ACS under its current legal business name, 
so if the name is changing, you will need to file a new application for vendorship (LIC 
9141) to have the new business approved for operations under this program.  You will 
also need to notify ACS of the date in which the current business is terminating.  When 
you do this, it automatically terminates your existing course approvals; therefore, those 
will need to be resubmitted (LIC 9140) under the new vendorship, if approved. 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ) 
& 

BEST PRACTICES 
 

This section is dedicated to sharing information so that we can all 
learn and exchange knowledge, ideas and practices! 

 

http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/pg471.htm

