UNUSUAL INCIDENT
INJURY and DEATH
REPORTING

CERTIFIED OUT OF STATE GROUP HOMES



CALIFORNIA

— The Golden State —

CA Family Code Section 7911.1(a)

Certified Out of State Group Homes are required to comply with
California Reporting requirements for each child in care
regardless of whether or not the child is a California
placement.

Other Applicable Reporting Statutes And Regulations

 Health & Safety Code (H&SC) Section 1502.4
« California Code Of Regulations (CCR), Title 22 Division 6,
Sections 80061 and 84061(a) — (H)(7)
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MANDATED CHILD ABUSE REPORTERS

Licensees, Administrators and facility staff are

mandated reporters, who in their professional capacity or
within the scope of employment, have knowledge of or
observes a person under the age of 18 years whom he/she
knows or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child
abuse or neglect must report the suspected incident. The
mandated reporter must contact a designated agency
Immediately or as soon as practically possible by telephone,
and shall prepare and send a written report within 36 hours of
receiving the information concerning the incident. [PC
11166(a)]
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PURPOSE OF REPORTING

To promote the health, safety, and quality of life of each
person in community care through the administration of

an effective collaborative regulatory enforcement system.

« Collaborative efforts promoting continuous improvement and
efficiency

« Training and technical assistance to increase voluntary
compliance
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PURPOSE OF REPORTING

The California reporting requirement is to provide an opportunity to
explain:

How or why an incident occurred

What preceded (antecedent) the incident and what could have
been done to deescalate the situation

What action is being taken to protect clients, and prevent
further incidents
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STATE OF CALIFORMA—HIZAL TH AND HUMAN SERWOLS AGENCT CALIFDRNLA DEFARTEENT OF SOCIAL SERNOES

STATEMENT ACKNOWLEDGING REQUIREMENT TO REPORT CHILD ABUSE
NOTE: RETAIN IN EMPLOYEELICENSEE FILE

HEME

FOEMoR FALGILITY MUMEER

California law REQUIRES certain persons to report known or suspected child abuse. As a licensee or an
employee at a licensed facility or a child care institution, YOU are one of those persons - a "mandated
reporter.”

PERSONS WHO ARE REQUIRED TO REPORT ABUSE

Mandated reporters include a licensee, an administrator, or an employee of a licensed community care
or child day care facility. [Penal Code ("PC") § 11165.7(a)(10)] Mandated reporters also include an
employee of a child care institution, including, but not limited to, foster parents, group home personnel,
and personnel of residential care facilities. [PC § 11165.7(a)(14)] Mo supervisor or administrator may
impede or inhibit an individual's reporting duties or subject the mandated reporter to any sanction for
making the report. [PC § 11166(h]]

WHEN REPORTING ABUSE IS REQUIRED

A mandated reporter, who in his or her professional capacity, or within the scope of his or her
employment, has knowledge of or observes a person under the age of 18 years whom he or she knows
or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse or neglect must report the suspected incident.
The reporter must contact a designated agency immediately or as soon as practically possible by
telephone, and shall prepare and send a written report within 36 hours of receiving the information
concerning the incident. [PC § 11166(a)]

ABUSE THAT MUST BE REPORTED

Physical injury inflicted by other than accidental means on a child. [PC § 11165.6]

Sexual abuse meaning sexual assault or sexual exploitation of a child. [PC § 11165.1]

Neglect meaning the negligent treatment, lack of treatment, or the maltreatment of a child by a person
responsible for the childs welfare under circumstances indicating harm or threatened harm to the child's
health or welfare. [PC § 11165.2]

Willful harming or injuring or endangering a child meaning a situation in which any person inflicts, or
willfully causes or permits a child to suffer, unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or causes or
permits a child be placed in a situation in which the child or child's health is endangered. [PC § 11165.3]

Unlawful corporal punishment or injury willfully inflicted upon a child and resulting in a traumatic
condition. [PC § 11165 4]
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SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE REPORT
To Be Completed by Mandated Child Abuse Reporters
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California Certified Group Homes

Report within 24 hours, or next business day; and a

written report within 7 days

Report Unusual Incident/Injury and Death to:

CDSS
Children & Family Services Division
Out-of-State Placement Policy Unit
Interstate Compact Administrator
744 P Street, MS 8-12-90
Sacramento, CA 95814
Fostercare.incidencereport@adss.ca.gov
FAX: (916) 651-8144

In State Licensing Authority
Authorized Representatives
Placement Agencies
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WHAT SHOULD BE REPORTED?

What constitutes a serious incident?

* Any incident that threatens the physical or emotional health or safety of
any client including sexual or physical abuse and/or assaults

« The death of any child in care from any cause

e Serious injuries requiring non-routine medical treatment
* Unusual pain or limited mobility from unknown sources
 lllegal drugs or alcohol

* Criminal activity

* Unauthorized absence

« Use of manual restraints/physical escort

« Epidemic out breaks, poisoning, catastrophes, fires, evacuations or
explosions



...Reporting Requirements...
ADMINISTRATIVE CHANGES WITHIN 10 DAY S

« Qrganizational changes

 New Chief Executive or Administrator

* Plan of Operation changes affecting client
services
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Incident Reports Must Include:

Facility Name, Address, Phone Number
Reporter’'s and Reviewer’'s Name
Administrator’s Signature

Placement Worker’s Name, Address, Phone
Number

Agencies Notified - Who and When

Description of the Incident

Who, what, when, where, why and how
Actions taken and follow up plan
Preventive measures

Witnesses, medical treatment

o O O O
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STATE OF CALIFDRHIA - HEALTH ARND HUMAK SEFVCES AGENCT

UNUSUAL INCIDENT/INJURY
REPORT

CALIFORRA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERWICES
COMBIUNITY CARE LICENSNG DNSION

INSTRUCTIONS -

MAMIE OF FACLITY

FACILITY FILE RUMBER

HOTIFY LICENSING AGENCY, PLACEMENT AGENCY AND
RESPONSIBLE PERZONS, IF ANY, BY NEXT WORKING DAY,
SUBMIT WRITTEN REPORT WITHIN 7 DS OF OCCURRENCE.
RETAIN COPY OF REPORT IN CLIENTS FILE.

TELEPHORE NUMBER

( )

T, SIATE, TP

CLIENTS/RESIDENTS INVOLVED DATE OCCURRED AGE SEX DATE OF ADMISSION
TYPE OF INCIDENT
[ Unauthorized Absence Aleged Chent Abuse [71 Rape [ Injury-Accident [ Medical Emengency
[ Aggressive Act/Self [ Sexual [ Pregnancy [ Injury-Unknowm Ornigin [ Other Sexual Incident

[ Aggressive ActfAnother Client [ Physical

[ Aggressive Act'Staff [ Psychological
[ Aggressive Act/Family, Visitors [ Financial

[] Alleged Violation of Rights [ Neglect

] Suicide Attempt [ Injury-From another Client [ Theft

[ Other

[ Injury-From behavior episode [ Fire
[ Epidemic Qutbreak [ Property Damage
[] Hospitalization [ Oher (explain)

DESCRIBE EVENT OR INCIDERT (INCLUDE DATE, TIME, LOCATION, PERPETRATOR, RATURE OF INCIENT, ANY ANTECEDENTS LEAING UP TO MCDENT ANMD HOW CLIENTS WERE AFFECTED, IRCLUDING

ANY MImES

PERSOMS] WHD OBSEFVED THE INCIDENTIRUURY:

EXPLAIN WHAT IMMEDWATE ADTION WAS TAKEN {IRCLUDE PERSOMS DORTACTED])

LI 24 [

OVER
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IF DEATH OCCURS

Must Report Regardless of Where It Occurred
Describe the Immediate Cause of Death
Conditions Contributing to Death

What Action Was Taken

Name of Attending Physician

Name of Coroner

Copy of Death Certificate
(Send Coroner Report if available within 30 days)
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(GALIFDERIA DEPASTMENT OF SOCWL SERVICES

STATE OF GALIFDEINIA - HEALTH AND HUBAN SERMCES AGENGY
COMMUNITY GARE LICENSING DSIDN

DEATH REPOHT INSTRUCTIOMS: MNOTIFY LICENSING AGEMCY, PLACEMEMT AGEMCY AND
LICENSEE MUST REPORT THE DEATH OF A CLIENT ESPORSELE PERSONS, [P AR, B NEXT WORKING D
OF ANY CAUSE, REGARDLESS OF WHERE THE SUBMIT WAITTEN REFORT WITHIN 7 DUYS OF OCCLIRRENCE.
DEATH OCCURRED. RETAIMN COPY OF REPOHT IN CLIENT'S FILE.
NAME OF FASILITY FACLITY FILE WLNBES TELEPHORE NUWSER
( )
ADDRESS T, STATE, IF
TOERTS NANE s |==u |mwu-m
TATE AR TTME OF DEATH FLACE OF DEATH

DESCHEE IMMEDTATE CAUSE OF DEATH [IF CORONER HEPOHT MALE, SEND COPY WITHIN 30 DATST:

TDESCRIEE CONDITIONS FRIOH 10 OR COMTRIEOTING 10 DEATH:

MEDICAL TREATMEMT NECESSARY? [ YEs [ NO IF YES, GIVE NATURE OF TREATMENT:
NAMIE OF ATTENDING PHYSICLAN AN OF MORTICIAN

NAMIE WD TITLE =53
REPORT SUBMITTED BY:

AR AN TTTLE DT
REPORT REVIEWEDVAPPROVED BY:

AGENCIESANDIVIDUALS NOTIFIED (SPECIFY NAME AND TELEPHONE NUMBER)

[] LICENSING [l ADULT/ACHILD PROTECTIVE SERVIGES:
[] LONG TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN [l PARENT/GUARDIANOONSERVATOR
] LAW ENFORCEMENT. [.] PLACEMENT AGENCY.

LIC B4 [Py

®14



California Department of Social Services (CDSS)

744 P Street, Sacramento 95814

Children & Family Services Division
Out-of-State Placement Policy Unit
Interstate Compact Administrator
744 P Street, MS 8-12-90

FAX: (916) 651-8144

Community Care Licensing Division
Children’s Residential Program
Out of State Certification Unit
744 P Street, M.S. 8-3-54
(916) 651-5380
FAX: (916) 657-1657
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mailto:Fostercare.incidencereport@dss.ca.gov

Thank You



