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Article 1.  GENERAL DEFINITIONS 
 
81000     GENERAL 81000 

 
POLICY 

 
The Chapter 2 Social Rehabilitation Facility regulations apply only to Social 
Rehabilitation Facilities. To ensure that regulations are properly enforced, corresponding 
sections in the facility-specific regulations should be reviewed. 

 
81001     DEFINITIONS 81001 
 
(b)(1) Basic rate             POLICY 
  

The admission agreement shall specify the services to be provided and the rate for such 
services. 
 
For Supplementary Security Income/State Supplementary Payment recipients, licensees 
shall provide all basic services at the government prescribed rate. In addition to funds 
paid by Supplementary Security Income/State Supplementary Payment, residents of 
community care facilities may also have $20 per month of income which is exempt for 
purposes of allowance computation. Thus, a resident may have personal and incidental 
monies plus $20 exempt income. The exempt income may be used to pay an additional 
charge for basic services provided. The additional charge for basic services provided is 
indicated in an admission agreement. Pursuant to the Welfare and Institutions Code 
Section 11006.9, it is grounds for revocation of a licensee to obtain as an additional cost 
for care, aid allocated to a recipient for his/her personal and incidental needs. 
 
For private pay residents (residents who do not receive Supplementary Security 
Income/State Supplementary Payment), the rate should be negotiated at the time of 
admission, and documented in writing in an admission agreement. However, a facility 
may charge whatever rate it chooses for services provided to each individual private pay 
client.  All services to be provided and the total cost for providing those services are 
specified in an admission agreement. Furthermore, the rate charged must be for provision 
of all services required by the client. In many cases, an individual will not require a 
number of the elements of care and supervision specified in California Code of 
Regulations, Title 22, Section 81001(c)(3). In these cases the rate for care established by 
the client may reflect only the cost of services to be provided. 

 
If this rate does not cover all the basic services a community care facility is required to 
provide, or all the services offered by the specific facility, but not currently required by 
the client, then there should be a clear explanation in the admission agreement as to what 
changes or increases in the rate will occur if these services become required or desired by 
the client. A care provider is not prohibited from raising his/her rate for any services to 
private pay clients at any time, as long as the 30-day notice is given as required by 
California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 81068(c)(4), (e), (f) and (g). In no event 
shall a care provider charge a higher rate than agreed to in advance by a client.  
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81001     DEFINITIONS   (Continued) 81001 
 
(b)(1) Basic rate         PROCEDURE  
 

Refer to Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Section 81026(f), 81068, and 81001(b)(1). 

 
(c)(3) Care and supervision             POLICY 
 

Facilities which provide care and supervision are required to be licensed. These care and 
supervision activities include all basic services which must be provided in order to obtain 
and maintain a license. 
 

(e)(7) Exception          PROCEDURE 
 

See Reference Material, Office Functions, Section 2-5000 and Regulation Interpretations 
and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities Section 81024. 

 
(e)(8) Exemption                                          POLICY 
 

Exemptions can be obtained on an individual basis under certain circumstances. 
However, the law does not allow transferring of exemptions between statutory acts.  

 
 PROCEDURE 
 

Refer to Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Section 81019. 

 
(g)(1) Guardian               POLICY 
 

A guardian is also identified as a person who is exempt from licensure. 
 
(i)(1) Inhalation-assistive device             POLICY 
  

Inhalation-assistive devices do not include metered-dose aerosols and dry-powder 
inhalers.  Due to public comment, metered-dose aerosols and dry-powder inhalers were 
removed from this definition during the October 1998 regulation package (ORD# 0696-
27). Refer to California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 81075 regarding facility 
staff assisting clients with metered-dose inhalers and dry powder inhalers. 
 

 (n)(2) Nonambulatory person             POLICY 
 

A deaf person who could respond to a visual signal may be ambulatory. However, when 
coupled with other factors such as dependence upon a mechanical aid, the person would 
be considered nonambulatory. 

 
In summary, a nonambulatory person is defined as one who is unable to leave a building 
unassisted under emergency conditions. This would include: 
 
1. Any person who is unable, or likely to be unable, to physically respond or 

mentally respond to a sensory signal approved by the State Fire Marshal, or an 
oral instruction relating to fire danger; 
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81001     DEFINITIONS   (Continued) 81001 
 
(n)(2) Nonambulatory person             POLICY   (Continued) 
 

2. Any person who depends upon a mechanical aid such as crutches, walkers, and 
wheelchairs. 

 
Policy regarding total care need and bedridden clients is as follows: 

A total care need client is one who is totally dependent on others to perform for 
them all activities of daily living including feeding, dressing, diapering etc. 

 
A bedridden person is defined in Uniform Building Code Section 403 as “a 
person confined to a bed, requiring assistance in turning or unable to 
independently transfer to and from bed, and unable to leave a building unassisted 
during emergency conditions.” 

 
Total care need and bedridden clients shall be allowed in community care facilities so 
long as the client does not require more than incidental medical care and the following 
conditions are met: 
 
1. The licensee has obtained the appropriate bedridden or non-ambulatory fire 

clearance. 
 

2. The licensee has a needs and services plan or Individual Program Plan, which 
specifies the services to be provided to ensure appropriate care for the client’s 
bedridden or total care condition. 

 
(See Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Sections 81010 and 81020.) 

 PROCEDURE 
 

See Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Sections 81010 and 81020. 

 
(s)(7) Substantial compliance               PROCEDURE 
 

See Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities Section 
81051. 

 
(u)(3) Urgent need         PROCEDURE 
 

Refer to Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Section 81030. 

 
(w)(1) Waiver         PROCEDURE 
  

Refer to Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Section 81024 and Reference Material, Office Functions, Sections 2-5000 through 2-
5700. 
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ARTICLE 2.  LICENSE 
 
81006 OPERATION WITHOUT A LICENSE  81006 

 
(a) POLICY 

 
When an unlicensed facility is in operation, the facility may file an application. However, 
continued operation pending licensure is a violation of the law. 

 
  PROCEDURE 

 
For further clarification, refer to Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social 
Rehabilitation Facilities Section 81006(b) and (c). 
 

(b) POLICY 
 

If information is received regarding the operation of an unlicensed facility, it shall be 
treated and given priority as a complaint. For more information on complaint 
investigations and unlicensed facilities, refer to Reference Material, Enforcement 
Actions, Sections 1-0600 through 1-0650 and Reference Material, Complaints, Sections 
3-2010, 3-2110 and 3-2240. 
 
An inspection shall be conducted to determine if the facility needs to be licensed. 
 
The Licensing Program Analyst should contact his/her Licensing Program Manager if (1) 
reasonable attempts have been made to gain access, and (2) there is a basis to support the 
belief that care and supervision are being provided (e.g., interviews with neighbors 
support belief). If the evaluator cannot gain entry into the facility in order to conduct this 
inspection, contact the Regional Investigation Section. 
 
In order to determine if a license is necessary, the review tool may be used during the site 
inspection to assess what the operator has agreed to provide in the living arrangement.  
There may be instances where sufficient evidence exists to substantiate an unlicensed 
operation complaint against the operator without the use of this review tool or with partial 
completion of the review tool.  Information used to determine the scores used in the 
review tool can come from several sources including, but not limited to: 
 
1.  Observations and interviews with individuals residing at the location; 

 
2.  Interviews with the operator; 
 
3.  Information received from other sources such as hospice agency, home health agency,  
     discharge planner, placement agency, social worker or the local ombudsman office. 
 
The Regional Office consulting enforcement attorney should be assisting every step of 
the way with these fact intensive decisions, and in all situations, the Regional Manager 
and/or Licensing Program Manager must be consulted before making a decision. 
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81006 OPERATION WITHOUT A LICENSE   (Continued)  81006 
 
(b) POLICY   (Continued) 

 
Upon final review of the data collected, if it is determined that care and supervision is 
provided and meets administrative or evidentiary standard, the issuance of a citation for 
“unlicensed operation” followed by issuance of a Notice of Operation in Violation of 
Law (LIC 195) will occur.  

 
   PROCEDURE 
 

If care and supervision are not being provided and it does not appear that any is needed, 
notify the operator using the Complaint Investigation Report (LIC 9099) and notify the 
complainant(s), if applicable, using the Complaint Response (LIC 856) by phone or in 
person. A copy of the Complaint Response (LIC 856) notice shall be placed in the facility 
confidential files. 
 
If care and supervision are not being provided, yet it appears that individual(s) need such, 
notify the same individuals specified above plus any known responsible parties, including 
relatives, guardians or placement agencies, as applicable. 
 
When notifying responsible persons or agencies, mail notices no later than one working 
day after the inspection has been conducted. 
 
If there are any immediate health and safety risks (e.g., abuse, neglect, or exploitation, 
serious physical plant deficiencies, etc.) telephone Adult Protective Services and/or the 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman so that immediate action to investigate and take necessary 
protective action, including necessary relocation of clients, can be initiated. Follow up 
such notification in writing. For more information regarding facility closures, see 
Reference Material, Enforcement Actions, Sections 1-0010 and 1-1190. 
 
Discuss with your supervisor the need to refer any cases to the Investigations Branch. 

 
 (c)  POLICY 
 

In-home supportive services arrangements often appear to fall under the jurisdiction of 
the Community Care Licensing Division, particularly congregate living arrangements for 
the elderly and/or persons with disabilities wherein the provider – who sometimes lives in 
the home – provides in-home supportive services entailing care and supervision.  Not all 
congregate living arrangements require licensure, however.  If all residents receiving care 
and supervision in a living arrangement receive care through the In-Home Supportive 
Services Program either through the same or different providers, licensure is not required.  
All other living arrangements where care and supervision is provided will need to be 
assessed on a case-by-case basis.  This includes living arrangements where some 
residents receive care and supervision through the In-Home Supportive Services Program 
and some residents receive care and supervision through another provider relationship.   

 
The Notice of Operation in Violation of Law (LIC 195) shall be issued when a facility is 
discovered operating without a license. 
 
The Notice of Operation in Violation of Law (LIC 195) shall be issued omitting the last 
paragraph, when a facility is discovered operating under the following circumstances: 
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81006 OPERATION WITHOUT A LICENSE   (Continued)  81006 
 
(c) POLICY   (Continued) 

 
1. When an application has been filed, but a license has not yet been approved. 
 
2.  When an initial application for a new license has been denied (regardless of whether 

or not such denial is appealed by the applicant). 
 

When the Regional Office has been previously informed that a facility is operating 
without a license, take the Notice of Operation in Violation of Law (LIC 195) signed by 
the Regional Manager to the inspection. If it is determined during the inspection that the 
facility is providing care and supervision and is operating unlicensed, issue the Notice of 
Operation in Violation of Law (LIC 195).  If the Regional Office has not been previously 
informed, the notice shall be mailed (certified mail return requested) or hand-delivered to 
the operator by not later than the following workday. If you are not returning to your 
office the day of the inspection, call your office and make arrangements for the notice to 
be mailed within the specified time frame. 
 
If the operator has taken no immediate action and an application has not been filed, make 
a follow-up inspection within 30 days of the initial inspection. The purpose of this 
inspection is to determine whether the facility is continuing to provide care and 
supervision.  If such is the case, consult with your supervisor to consider referral to the 
Investigations Branch for appropriate enforcement action.  For more information on the 
Investigations Branch, refer to Reference Material, Enforcement Actions, Sections 1-
0600 through 1-0650. 

 
81007 EXEMPTION FROM LICENSURE 81007 

 
(a) See Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities Section 

81018(d)(5) regarding eating disorders clinics.  
 

(a)(3) POLICY 
 
Facilities determined by the Community Care Licensing Division to be providing 
nonmedical care and supervision are not exempt from licensure under Health and Safety 
Code Section 1505(f). These facilities shall be subject to licensure as a community care 
facility. This statute does exempt church conducted facilities that adhere to a dependence 
on prayer or spiritual means for healing. However, this exemption is limited to those 
facilities that substitute prayer for medical/nursing services which would otherwise be 
provided for or required by residents in a health facility such as a nursing home or 
hospital as defined in Sections 1200 or 1250 of the Health and Safety Code. 

 
For cases in which a facility is claiming an exemption from licensure the Community 
Care Licensing Division will determine if granting the exemption is valid. In order to 
make this determination, the staff of the Community Care Licensing Division Regional 
Office will: 
 
1. Inspect the facility to evaluate the type and extent of care and supervision being 

provided to persons residing in the facility in question. 
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81007 EXEMPTION FROM LICENSURE   (Continued) 81007 
 

(a)(3) POLICY   (Continued) 
 
2. Contact the appropriate Department of Public Health licensing agency when it 

appears that medical care is required (though not provided) and ask them to determine 
if the facility is exempt from licensure as a health facility as defined by the Health 
and Safety Code.  In cooperation with Department of Public Health, the Community 
Care Licensing Division staff may arrange joint inspection with Department of Public 
Health licensing staff to evaluate the facility. 

 
3. Advise the facility operator(s)/administrator(s) that they are required to have a license 

as a community care facility when it is determined that care and supervision is needed 
and being provided and/or medical care is not needed and not being provided. Give 
the operator(s) and/or administrator(s) an opportunity to file an application. 

 
4. For those facilities subject to licensure, the following guidelines will be used in 

granting waivers/exceptions for those licensing requirements which conflict with the 
beliefs and practices of the particular religion: 
 
a. If the facility is maintained by and for the followers of a church or religious 

denomination who relies upon prayer or spiritual means for healing, the 
licensing agency shall not require medical assessments, examinations, tests, 
health histories or medical supervision of the employees or residents in the 
facility, provided employment and admission for care is limited to those 
individuals. 
 

b. An exception for medical assessments, examinations, tests, health histories, or 
medical supervision may be granted to a facility that admits adults who rely 
solely upon prayer or other spiritual means for healing. Individuals, however, 
must present satisfactory evidence that they do not have a communicable 
disease. Satisfactory evidence shall be a physician’s written statement. 

 
5. If a facility is maintained by and for the followers of a particular faith or religion, 

such preference may be stated on the license. 
 
(a)(4)  POLICY 
 

A homeless shelter is exempt from licensure as a community care facility. To qualify for 
exemption, the facility is prohibited from providing care and supervision, administering 
or dispensing prescription medications to homeless persons, or allowing a homeless 
person to reside permanently in the shelter.  

 
Homeless shelters may provide certain acceptable services.  These include temporary 
shelter, food/meals, clothing, transportation, personal grooming supplies, bathing 
facilities, laundry facilities, housing search assistance, job search assistance, advocacy, 
and counseling. These permitted services may appear to cross over with care and 
supervision requiring licensure; however, a homeless shelter that provides these services 
shall not be construed as providing elements of care and supervision and is exempt from 
licensure.     
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81007 EXEMPTION FROM LICENSURE   (Continued) 81007 
 

(a)(4) POLICY   (Continued) 
 
Due to the nature of the program, individuals who come to a homeless shelter may need 
care and supervision.  If an evaluation by shelter staff indicates that a client is in need of 
care and supervision, the client will be referred for appropriate placement. 

 
                                                                   PROCEDURE   
 

If a Licensing Program Analyst receives a complaint regarding a homeless shelter 
operating as an unlicensed facility, the Licensing Program Analyst must immediately 
discuss the complaint with his/her Licensing Program Manager to assess whether an 
unlicensed operation of a facility is occurring.  In addition, the Licensing Program 
Analyst and Licensing Program Manager should consult with the enforcement attorney if 
necessary to obtain assistance interpreting requested documents provided by the operator.  
This determination will be made on a case-by-case basis.  As part of the unlicensed 
operations complaint investigation, consideration should be made to the documentation 
provided by the operator demonstrating the status as a homeless shelter.  This 
documentation may include, but not be limited to, a business license or other required 
permits, if required by local ordinances to operate as a homeless shelter, or contracts with 
local governments to operate a homeless shelter.  Local ordinances may have set 
requirements that must be met in order to operate a homeless shelter (e.g., permits, 
zoning requirements, maximum number of beds, and business licenses).  Senate Bill 2 
(Statutes of 2007) required local governments to identify a zone that can accommodate at 
least one year-round emergency shelter and sets parameters regarding local requirements 
such as permits and zoning requirements.  Emergency shelters would be an example of a 
homeless shelter that would be exempt from licensure from the Department of Social 
Services.  The Licensing Program Analyst must obtain the Licensing Program Manager’s 
approval prior to issuing findings that a homeless shelter is operating as an unlicensed 
facility. 

 
(a)(11)    POLICY 
 

1. Facilities on federal property or on Indian Reservations: 
 

Facilities on federal government property or on Indian Reservations are exempt 
from licensing.  

 
    PROCEDURE 
 

1. Process a licensing application, if the land manager (e.g., military base commander or 
the Indian Tribal Council) agrees to cooperate with all licensing procedures. Use the 
appropriate following standard form to record the agreement: 

 
Agreement for licensure of community care facility/child day care facility on 
Federal Property (LIC 996)  
 
Agreement for Licensure of community care facility/child day care facility on an 
Indian Reservation (LIC 996A) 

  
16SRF-01  May 2016 

8 



EVALUATOR MANUAL     SOCIAL REHABILITATION FACILITIES 
 
81007 EXEMPTION FROM LICENSURE   (Continued) 81007 
 
(a)(11)    PROCEDURE   (Continued) 
 

In addition, the licensing agency should obtain a written agreement from the applicant to 
ensure that all parties understand the licensing conditions. Use the appropriate following 
standard form to record the agreement with the applicant: 
 

Agreement by Licensee/Applicant on Federal Property (LIC 997) 
 

Agreement by Licensee/Applicant on an Indian Reservation (LIC 997A) 
 

A licensing agency manager should sign the agreement used. 
 
If an agreement is with an Indian Tribal Council, the licensing agency must notify the 
Bureau of Indian Affairs. Send a copy of the completed agreement to the following 
address: 
 

U.S. Department of Interior 
Sacramento Area 
Bureau of Indian Affairs 
2800 Cottage Way 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Attention: Area Director 

 
81008 LICENSING OF INTEGRAL FACILITIES 81008 
 
 (a)(3)  POLICY 
 

“Single site” means at one location, or on the same premises. In other words, a facility 
may be comprised of multiple buildings, and may be under one license, as long as the 
buildings are physically located on the same premises (adjoining lots); are managed by 
the same licensee; are components of a single program; and have a common address. (For 
purposes of determining if the facility is a single site, consult the county tax records at the 
county assessor’s office to ascertain if the property on which the buildings are located is 
under a single parcel number or on adjoining lots.) 
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ARTICLE 3.  APPLICATION PROCEDURE 
 
81019 CRIMINAL RECORD CLEARANCE 81019 
 
(a) 
 

Registered nurses, licensed vocational nurses, podiatrists, physical and occupational 
therapists, and other medical professionals who inspect facilities and only provide 
services within their scope of practice do not need background checks. However, if the 
medical professional is a licensee or employee of a community care facility, or provides 
assistance to clients with dressing, grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene or provides 
care and supervision of clients, then background checks must be completed for that 
individual.  
 

(b) 
 

A nurse assistant or home health aide who has been certified or recertified by the State 
Department of Public Health on or after July 1, 1998, is deemed to meet the criminal 
background clearance requirements for community care licensing, as long as the home 
health aide or nurse assistant is not employed, retained, or contracted by the licensee. 
When the nurse assistant or home health aide is providing care as an employee of a home 
health agency, they must provide the facility with a copy of their current Department of 
Public Health certification card and the licensee shall keep a copy of the card in file for 
review by the Department. If a home health agency sends a person without a Department 
of Public Health certification to the facility to work, that person must meet the 
community care licensing fingerprint requirements. 
 
A certified nurse assistant or home health aide is only qualified by that certificate to work 
for a facility licensed by the Department of Public Health, such as a hospital, skilled 
nursing facility or home health agency. If this person is contracted for, employed, or 
retained by a community care facility licensee, while working for the community care 
facility licensee they are not considered to be a nurse assistant or home health aide, and 
must meet community care licensing fingerprint requirements. 
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81021 WATER SUPPLY CLEARANCE                                                81021 
 
(a)(2) POLICY 
 

Sanitation clearance inspections are requested only as required by this regulation or if 
sanitation conditions exist which could adversely affect the clients’ health and safety. For 
example, if a facility is located in an area where chemical contamination is a concern, an 
analysis may be requested based on Health and Safety Code Section 1501(b)(5). 

 
 PROCEDURE 
 

Discuss the need for a sanitation inspection with your supervisor, as this requires 
payment of a fee by the applicant/licensee. Coordinate inspections with the local 
sanitation department. 

 
81022 PLAN OF OPERATION                                   81022 
 
(b)(5) PROCEDURE 
 

Refer to Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Sections 81064 and 81065. 

 
(b)(8) POLICY 
 

Licensees shall not be required to submit blueprints or plans drawn to scale. 
 
 PROCEDURE 
 
Review plans to ensure compliance with Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for 
Social Rehabilitation Facilities Sections 81010 and 81087. 

 
(b)(14) 
 

The Admission Agreement Guide for Residential Facilities (LIC 604) has a section for 
the facility's visiting policy. For licensed facilities, the Plan of Operation should be 
updated at the time of renewal or in response to a complaint about the facility's visiting 
policy. 

 
(i) 
 

Upon receipt of the Plan of Operation, review applicable regulations to ensure that each 
part of the plan is in compliance. For example, to determine if an applicant’s admission 
agreement is adequate, review Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social 
Rehabilitation Facilities Section 81068. 
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81023 DISASTER AND MASS CASUALTY PLAN                                    81023 
 
(b)(2) POLICY 
 

It is recommended that the plan also include utility shut off locations, the location of first 
aid supplies and be posted by the telephone in the facility. 

 
 NOTE: The Emergency Disaster Plan for Adult Day Programs, Adult Residential 

Facilities, Residential Care Facilities for the Chronically Ill, and Social 
Rehabilitation Facilities (LIC 610D) meets this regulation. 

 
   PROCEDURE 

 
Review the facility plan to ensure that it is complete, accurate and updated as necessary 
to reflect any changes in the facility or community. 

 
(d)  POLICY 
 

Disaster drills should ensure that clients know exit routes. It is recommended that a 
diagram of the facility clearly indicating exit routes be posted on all floors of the facility. 
 
In conducting disaster drills, exiting the building according to a plan is necessary, but 
relocation of clients would only occur in an actual disaster. 

 
81024 WAIVERS AND EXCEPTIONS                                                 81024 
 
(b)(3) POLICY 
 

A waiver may be granted when an applicant/licensee requests a variance to a specific 
regulation that relates to the overall operation of the facility. 

 
An exception may be granted when an applicant/licensee requests a variance to a specific 
regulation on behalf of an individual(s) (e.g., a client or employee). 

 
An approval shall describe the alternate plan and specify the condition(s) under which 
the request is granted, including its duration. The duration of waivers/ exceptions shall be 
for the term of the license or for a shorter period at the request of the applicant/licensee or 
as deemed necessary by the licensing agency to ensure adequate and safe provision of 
service. 
 
The basis for denial shall be fully explained. 
 
   PROCEDURE 
 
For more information on waivers and exceptions, see Regulation Interpretations and 
Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities Section 81001(e)(7), (e)(8) and (w)(1) and 
Reference Material, Office Functions, Sections 2-5000 through 2-5700. 
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81027 INITIAL APPLICATION REVIEW  81027 
 

(b)(1) POLICY 
 

An application which has been withdrawn shall not be considered a denial. 
 
 PROCEDURE 

 
See Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities Section 
81029. 

 
(c)  POLICY 
 

The two-year “cease review” requirement does not apply if an individual, who was 
previously a member of a corporation whose Community Care Licensing Division license 
was revoked, files a new application.  However, if it can be proven that the individual 
was party to the reasons the corporation’s license was revoked, there may be basis for 
denial of the application. 

 
 PROCEDURE 

 
Refer to Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Section 81018(d)(10).  

 
81028 CAPACITY DETERMINATION  81028 
 
(c)(1) POLICY 
 

The licensing agency must evaluate each situation and make a capacity determination 
considering, in part, the presence of other members of the household who reside at the 
facility.  
 
If it appears that other household members require a significant amount of care and 
supervision, this may reduce the ability of the licensee to provide care to the requested 
number or maximum number of community care clients.  Similarly, the presence of other 
appropriately qualified household members may enhance the ability of the licensee to 
provide care and supervision if these members assist in the provision of care. 
 
The decision to reduce licensed capacity (from the requested or maximum number 
allowed) is based on the care needs of other household members. These needs are 
reflected by their mental and physical level of functioning, relative to other persons of the 
same age, and their dependence on the licensee for care and supervision. 
 
Licensing agencies shall enforce the appropriate physical plant regulations established for 
the specific category, to ensure adequate accommodations exist for all people who will 
reside in the facility.  If adequate accommodations exist for all household members and 
no household member has special or unusual care needs, they have no impact on the 
capacity determination.  
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81028 CAPACITY DETERMINATION   (Continued)  81028 
 
(c)(1) POLICY   (Continued) 

 
If other members of the household have unusual or special needs, then a capacity 
reduction should be considered.  As a general rule, the capacity should be reduced by one 
for every household member whose special needs require care in an amount similar to 
that required by other community care residents with similar special needs.  For example, 
a developmentally disabled individual may reduce the licensed capacity by one. 
 

   PROCEDURE 
 

Obtain information about the other household members who reside at the facility. This 
information shall be broken down by: 
 
1. Age, relationship to licensee. 

 
2. Physical and mental level of functioning, if these individuals have special needs. 

 
3. Based on “2” above, a brief description of any special or unusual care needs. 
 
For existing licensees, this information shall be obtained or updated at time of renewal. 
For applicants, this information shall be obtained at time of application and updated at 
time of renewal. 
 
All decisions to reduce licensed capacity for existing licensees shall be approved by the 
Regional Office Manager and shall be properly documented and supported in the 
facility’s files. This decision should also be shared with any placement agencies involved. 
 
Inform the licensee, in writing, of the reasons why a reduced capacity was determined to 
be necessary.  For existing licensees, a reasonable time period shall be provided if 
relocation of clients is necessary. 
 
If an applicant or licensee does not voluntarily reduce their license capacity, deny their 
application. If an application is denied and the licensee appeals this action, request a 
Temporary Suspension Order if the licensee’s failure to reduce the capacity is significant 
enough to jeopardize the clients’ health and safety (e.g., a requested capacity reduction of 
one may not jeopardize the clients’ health or safety). For more information, refer to 
California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 81042. 

 
(f)(2) POLICY 
 

When restricted to specific clients, the names of those clients are confidential and shall 
not be printed on the license. The license shall indicate “Restricted to specified clients”. 

 
   PROCEDURE 
 

Complete Confidential Names (LIC 811).  Inform licensee, in writing, of the reason(s) for 
the restriction, referring to the client(s) by number and enclose a copy of Confidential 
Names (LIC 811). Instruct clerk to file the letter in the public section of the facility file 
and Confidential Names (LIC 811) in the confidential section.  
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81029 WITHDRAWAL OF APPLICATION 81029 
 
(a)(1) POLICY 

 
The applicant has the right to withdraw an application any time prior to the issuance of a 
license. The withdrawal of an application shall not be considered a denial. However, the 
withdrawal of an application shall not deprive the department of its authority to institute 
or continue a proceeding to deny an application, unless the department has consented to 
the withdrawal in writing.  

 
If the licensing agency gives consent to a withdrawal, administrative action cannot be 
taken. Therefore, written consent should not be given in situations where application 
denial is intended or pending. Additionally, the withdrawal of an application is not 
appropriate in situations where the application has already been acted upon (denied or 
approved). 
 

PROCEDURE 
 
If the licensing agency is notified that an applicant is no longer interested in obtaining a 
license and wishes to withdraw his/her application, confirm in writing the applicant’s 
intent to withdraw the application and give consent to the withdrawal, unless the 
licensing agency is in the process of denying the application. If the licensing agency is in 
the process of denying the application, continue the denial procedure and do not consent 
to the withdrawal of the application. 
 
1. If a denial action is pending, send the following notification: 
 

“We acknowledge receipt of your request to withdraw your community care 
license application. This acknowledgment is not a consent to the withdrawal of 
your license application and does not deprive the department of its authority to 
take action to deny your application.” 
 

2. If denial action is not pending, send the following: 
 

“We have received your request to withdraw your community care license 
application and do hereby consent to the withdrawal. If you wish to obtain a 
community care license in the future, you must reapply for a license.” 
 
Document in the facility case file the reason for consenting or not consenting to 
the withdrawal. 
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81030 PROVISIONAL LICENSE 81030 

 
(f)     POLICY 
 

Issuing a provisional license is a discretionary option available to the licensing agency 
during urgency conditions when denying the application for initial license would be 
inappropriate. Thus, provisional licenses are not issued “upon request” of the applicant. 
Nor is there an application process for issuance of provisional licenses, or an appeal 
procedure if an applicant requests a provisional license and is not given one. The 
applicant does have appeal recourse to the denial of the application for the initial 
licensure. 

 
Provisional licenses are not for the purpose of “expediting” the licensing process and are 
not to be used as “probationary licenses.” An applicant must comply with the criminal 
record and fire clearance requirements in order to meet the substantial compliance 
criteria. To the extent that waiting for these clearances “holds up” the licensing approval 
process, a provisional license cannot be used to remedy this situation. 

 
  PROCEDURE 
 
When an application for a provisional license is approved, route it to the clerk with an 
LIS Input Sheet (LIC 9104) for typing and logging. Prepare a cover letter that describes 
the conditions of the provisional license and states deficiencies to be corrected before a 
regular license can be granted. The cover letter should conclude with the statement that 
unless all conditions are fulfilled, a regular license will not be granted. Supervisory 
review of the provisional license and cover letter is required before being mailed. 
 
If, during the term of a provisional license, health and safety risks arise: 
 
1. Issue a Notification of Initial Application Denial (LIC 192) and specify in that 

letter the date by which the facility must cease operations, taking into 
consideration any client relocation which may be necessary. See Regulation 
Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities Section 81040. 

 
2. After the effective date in the Notification of Initial Application Denial (LIC 192), 

if the facility continues operation, issue a Notice of Operation in Violation of Law 
(LIC 195). See Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social 
Rehabilitation Facilities Section 81006.  

 
Before the termination of a provisional license, the licensing agency shall (1) 
conduct a review to determine whether all licensing requirements are met and (2) 
deny or approve the application for a license. 
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81031 ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 81031 
 
(a)    POLICY 
 

A facility’s failure to comply with a local ordinance or deed restriction shall not 
constitute grounds for denial of an application, denial of renewal or revocation of a 
license unless the reasons for noncompliance are also violations of licensing laws and 
regulations. 
 

 PROCEDURE 
 

1. If a city, county, landlord, etc., notifies a licensing agency that an 
applicant /licensee is failing to meet the terms of a local ordinance, or deed 
restriction, advise such person(s) that if the facility meets the requirements of 
California Code of Regulations, Title 22, and the Community Care Facility Act, 
the applicant/1icensee will be issued a license to operate a community care 
facility.  
 
They should further be advised that any administrative/legal action or recourse as 
it pertains to nonconformance with local ordinances or deed restrictions would 
have to be initiated and carried out by the city, county, landlord, etc., in question. 

 
2. If such noncompliance is determined to be in violation of licensing laws and 

regulations, advise the applicant/licensee of the violation and take appropriate 
legal/administrative action, i.e., denial, issuance of civil penalties, etc. See 
Regulation Interpretations and Procedures for Social Rehabilitation Facilities 
Sections 81040 through 81042. 

 
3. If it is discovered that a city, county, landlord, etc., has adopted or imposed a local 

ordinance or deed restriction which is in violation of Health and Safety Code 
Sections 1566.2 or 1566.3, the licensing agency shall not take legal or 
administrative action against the city, county, landlord, etc., on an 
applicant’s/licensee’s behalf. In such cases, the applicant/licensee shall be advised 
that if they meet all of the provisions of California Code of Regulations, Title 22,  
and conform with State laws, they shall receive a license. 

 
(b)    PROCEDURE 
 

Determine, as the result of the site inspection, that the facility and licensee meet licensing 
requirements. Review the entire folder and make final decision on the application. 
Forward the folder to the clerk with a Transmittal for Processing (LIC 907), 
recommending licensure and detailing limitations and the applicant’s preferences. The 
clerk prepares the Application for a Community Care Facility or Residential Care Facility 
for the Elderly License (LIC 200) and forwards the folder to the supervisor for review. If 
recommendation for licensure is approved, the supervisor signs off the above forms and 
forwards to the clerk for recording and mailing. 
 
If recommendation for licensure is not approved, the supervisor will discuss the case with 
you and action to be taken. It is important not to advise the applicant of a licensure 
decision prior to supervisory approval. 
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81034 SUBMISSION OF NEW APPLICATION 81034 
 
(a)(2)(C) POLICY 

 
If there has been no change in the ownership of the corporation, a new application is not 
required solely because there is a change in the Chief Executive Officer of a corporation, 
even if the Chief Executive Officer signed the application. However, the Administrative 
Organization (LIC 309), Request for Live Scan Service – Community Care Licensing 
Division (LIC 9163), Criminal Record Statement (LIC 508) and any other licensing 
forms or documents which require updating due to the change must be submitted. 
 
 PROCEDURE 

 
See California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 81026(m). 

 
(a)(5) POLICY 
 

A permanent change in any client from ambulatory to nonambulatory status does not 
require a new application if there is a nonambulatory fire-cleared room available in the 
facility. 
 
Although this requirement for submitting a new application is linked to a “permanent” 
change in a client’s ambulatory status, this does not permit “temporarily” nonambulatory 
clients to use rooms or areas restricted to ambulatory clients. 

 
 PROCEDURE 
 

Refer to California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Sections 81001(n)(2) and 81010. 
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