
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
   

 

 

 
 

                                                                             
 
 
 
Welcome to our Winter 2011-12/Spring 2012 Children’s Residential Care Update.  This 
is a combined Children’s Residential Care Update for the last quarter of 2011 and first 
and second quarters of 2012.  We are in the twenty-first year of our efforts to keep the 
children’s residential care community informed of licensing programs and services.  
Your support in sharing this Update with colleagues in your organization and others 
interested in children’s issues is appreciated.   
 
You may now find the topic of your choice in each Update without having to scroll down. 
Just go to the next page and put your cursor over the blue highlighted subject heading 
that you wish to review, hold down the control button and click on your mouse at the 
same time, and you will be taken to that area of the Update. 
 

Our Updates are available online at the California Department of Social Services 
(CDSS) Community Care Licensing Division (CCLD) website.  They can be viewed  
or obtained at http://ccld.ca.gov/PG457.htm.  
 
                        

                                                                              

http://ccld.ca.gov/PG457.htm


 

TOPIC INDEX 

UPDATED LAW ON CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINTS 

 

A THANK YOU TO SERGIO RAMIREZ, CHILDREN’S RESIDENTIAL PROGRAM 

ADMINISTRATOR 

 

CONNECTING WITH A TEENAGER OR NON-MINOR DEPENDENT 

 
NEW SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME/ STATE SUPPLEMENTARY PAYMENT  

AND NON-MEDICAL OUT-OF-HOME CARE PAYMENT STANDARDS FOR 2012 

 
REGULATIONS DOCKET   
 
HELPFUL REMINDERS  
 
CHILDREN’S RESIDENTIAL CARE PROGRAM STAFF CHANGES 
 
RESIDENTIAL CARE STATISTICS 

 
UPDATED LAW ON CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINTS 
 

On October 4, 2011, Governor Brown signed into law Senate Bill (SB) 929 (Chapter 
474, Statutes of 2011), which increases the requirements for children riding in any 
vehicle to be properly restrained in a child safety or booster seat in the rear seat until 
their 8th birthday.  The increase from six years old (or 60 pounds) to eight years old went 
into effect January 1, 2012.   
 
All children from ages eight to 16 must also be properly restrained in a child safety, 
booster, or vehicle seat belt that is appropriate to their needs.  A booster seat is a child 
restraint that raises a child up so that the vehicle’s lap-shoulder belt is properly 
positioned across the strong bones of their bodies.   
 
Studies indicate that the number one cause of death for children in the United States is 
vehicle collisions.  Children who are seated in a booster seat in the rear of a car have 
been found to be 45 percent less likely to be injured in a crash when compared to those 
with only a seat belt.  Children who are up to age eight and riding in a rear vehicle seat 
have their injury risk reduced by 64 percent, while children from ages nine to 12 have 
their injury risk reduced by 31 percent.    
 
If you are cited by law enforcement, you will be subject to a fine of nearly $500.00 and 
one point on your driver’s record for all children under age 16 who are not properly 
restrained in your motor vehicle.   
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The CCLD is developing an implementation plan for SB 929 as it may impact the 
current transportation requirements in the California Code of Regulations, Title 22, for  
all licensed children’s residential facilities and homes.  The California Child Passenger 
Safety Law, 4 Steps for Kids poster (PUB 269), is also being revised to reflect the 
change in law.  The complete text of SB 929 can be viewed at the State of California 
Legislative Counsel website. 
 
A THANK YOU TO SERGIO RAMIREZ, CHILDREN’S RESIDENTIAL PROGRAM 
ADMINISTRATOR 
 
Sergio Ramirez, Children’s Residential Program Administrator (PA), has retired after 32 
years of state service, 30 of those years which were with CCLD.   
 
In 1981, Sergio joined CCLD as a Licensing Program Analyst and was promoted in 
1984 to Licensing Program Supervisor, a role in which he trained and mentored several 
staff.  His skills and knowledge led him to be promoted to Regional Manager in 1990, 
where he first managed the Los Angeles Northwest Child Care Office, then moved to 
the Pacific Inland Regional Office for the Children’s Residential Program.  In 2007, 
Sergio became the Assistant Program Administrator for the Children’s Residential 
Program and achieved the position of Statewide Administrator in 2009.   
 
Until a new Children’s Residential PA is selected, Mei Yuk Kung, Program Chief for the 
Children’s Residential Program and Angela Valdez, Regional Manager of the Central 
California Regional Office, are alternating as acting PA each month.  We wish Sergio 
the best in his retirement!  

 
CONNECTING WITH A TEENAGER OR NON-MINOR DEPENDENT 

 
Now that California has implemented extended foster care for non-minor dependents, it 
is timely to provide support to you in connecting with the teenager or non-minor 
dependent in your care.  A fact sheet, “Connecting With Your Teen,” offered through the 
Child Welfare Information Gateway, a resource provided by the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families, Children’s 
Bureau, provides several tips that may be helpful. 
 
A teen or non-minor dependent-age young adult may have traits that must be 
considered as you connect with them.  In their quest for independence, they may 
question rules and authority, test limits, and be impulsive.  Suggested activities that may 
reinforce your connection with the teenager or non-minor dependent in your care 
include:  

 Having regular family meals.  A regular weekly family dinner night could be 
planned that accommodates a teenager’s or non-minor dependent’s schedule. 

 Getting involved.  Go to games and other activities.  Ask a teenager or non-
minor dependent about homework, projects, and hobbies.  When possible, get to 
know their friends and their parents. 
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 Setting clear limits.  Involve a teenager or non-minor dependent in setting rules 
and consequences.  Make sure consequences are related to the behavior, and 
be consistent with follow through.   
 

You can find the complete “Connecting With Your Teen” fact sheet and other resources 
for connecting with a teenager or non-minor dependent-age young adult on the Child 
Welfare Information Gateway website. 

 
NEW SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME/STATE SUPPLEMENTARY 
PAYMENT AND NON-MEDICAL OUT-OF-HOME CARE PAYMENT 
STANDARDS FOR 2012 
 

New Supplemental Security Income /State Supplementary Payment (SSI/SSP) rates 
become effective January 1, 2012.  The new rates reflect a 3.6 percent federal cost of 
living increase to the SSI portion of the benefit.  A chart showing the new estimated 
SSI/SSP payment standards, along with a second chart showing the new non-medical 
out-of-home care payment standards, can be accessed through the CCLD website at 
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/11apx09.pdf and http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/11apx10.pdf.  If you 
have questions regarding these new rates, please contact Cynthia Yates with the Adult 
Programs Division at (916) 651-0551. 

 
REGULATIONS DOCKET   
 

Children’s Residential Exceptions to Age 18 Regulations:  The Children’s 
Residential Exceptions to Age 18 regulations have been approved by the Office of 
Administrative Law. 
  
These proposed regulations clarify the exceptions in law that permit children to remain 
in foster care past age 18.  These proposed regulations would eliminate the requirement 
for licensees to request exceptions.  The proposed regulations are currently posted on 
the Office of Regulations Development website at 
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG2699.htm.   
 
HELPFUL REMINDERS  

 
Tax Assistance for Foster Parents 
 

The National Foster Parent Association (NFPA) provides tax benefit guides for foster 
parents that describes basic rules and offers information on how foster parents can 
claim tax deductions and credits that may be available to them.  As advised by the 
NFPA, foster parents should consult with their professional tax preparers to see which 
benefits they may currently qualify for.  For more information, please visit the NFPA 
website. 
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Extracurricular, Enrichment, and Social Activities for Foster Youth 
 

Caregivers are reminded that children in foster care are entitled to participate in 
extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities.  In permitting children to participate in 
these activities, caregivers must use the Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard.  For 
more information, please review the CDSS Information Release and All County Letter 
titled “Extracurricular, Enrichment, and Social Activities for Foster Children,” which are 
both available on the CCLD website at http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/IR2.pdf and   
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl05/pdf/05-39.pdf.   
 
CHILDREN’S RESIDENTIAL CARE PROGRAM STAFF CHANGES 

 
We are pleased to announce the following managerial appointments in the Children’s 
Residential Care Program:  

 Julie Darden, Licensing Program Manager (LPM) I, Northern California 

 Claudia Guangorena, LPM I, Los Angeles Metro  

 Dona Watters, LPM I, Chico 
 
RESIDENTIAL CARE STATISTICS  
 

All of the statistics for state and county-licensed Children’s Residential Care facilities 
are available online.  When you visit the CCLD home page at http://www.ccld.ca.gov, 
please click on the “Facility Facts” tab at the top of the page. Click on the “Licensing 
Statistics” link on the center of the page that appears.  Then, click on the desired “State 
Licensed Facilities by Geographical Area” or “County Licensed Facilities” link on the 
center of the page.  Directories can also be obtained from your local licensing office. 
 
SUMMARY 
 

If you have questions about this Update or proposed regulations, or suggestions for 
future topics, please contact Gloria Merk, Acting Chief of the Technical Assistance and 
Policy Branch at (916) 651-3456.  Please visit our website at www.ccld.ca.gov to obtain 
Updates, office locations, provider letters, regulations, or to learn more about licensing 
services.  Information about all Children’s Residential facilities and homes, including  
Out- of-State Group Homes and the Statewide County Foster Family Home Program, is 
available on the CCLD website at http://ccld.ca.gov/PG499.htm. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original signed by Kathi Mowers-Moore for  
 
JEFFREY HIRATSUKA 
Deputy Director 
Community Care Licensing Division  
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