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As we transition from the year 2012 and welcome the New Year, 2013, 

the Community Care Licensing Division (CCLD) would like to thank      

licensees and stakeholders for their continued support and input in      

development of the child care update and other licensing matters. 

We strive to promote the health, safety, and quality of life for children in 

child care facilities, and will continue to use the updates to communicate 

to the public and assist with the interpretation of the laws and regulations 

pertaining to child care. 

TO THE CHILD CARE COMMUNITY 

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Paula d’Albenas as the 
new Child Care Program Administrator.  Paula was the Assistant        
Program Administrator for the Northern Child Care Program Office.     
Paula has extensive experience with CCLD from a Licensing Program 
Analyst through the Assistant Program Administrator.  

 As the Child Care Program Administrator, Paula will be responsible for 
the identification of key operational and policy issues in the Child Care 
Program.  She will oversee thirteen regional offices and 341 authorized 
positions responsible for monitoring 52,000 facilities and monitoring three 
county licensing programs.  Paula began her new appointment on       
December 10, 2012. 

New Program Administrator 

Effective October 1, 2012, the Child Care Program Eureka Office moved 

to Arcata.   

The previous address was: 

1330 Bayshore Way, Suite 101, Eureka, California 95501 

The new address is: 

749 F Street, Arcata, California 95521 

We Have Moved 



 

 

Do you work at a California      

licensed child care center?  

If you do, your center needs to   
follow the requirements of the 
Healthy Schools Act (HSA).  In   
addition to the requirements for the 
State of California to uphold, this 
law also requires that you inform 
staff and parents of your students 
about pesticide use at your       
center.   

There are four main                  

requirements: 

1. Send a list of pesticide products 
you think might be used at your 
center to parents and staff    
every year. Pesticides applied 
by you or your pest             
management professional 
(PMP) (contractor, pest control 
person or exterminator) must be 
on the list. You will need to ask 
the PMP for a list of pesticides 
they might use. 

2. Give parents and staff the     
opportunity to register with you 
if they want to be notified every 
time a pesticide is applied at 
your center.  For those          
registering, you must send them 
notification of a pesticide        
application at least 72 hours   
beforehand. 

3. Post a warning sign about the 
pesticide application 24 hours 
before the application and leave 
it in place for 72 hours           
afterwards. 

4. File records of pesticide         
applications at your center for 
four years. 

You must meet these requirements 
even if someone else applies the 
pesticides.  For more information 
about the HSA requirements go to 
the California Department of      
Pesticide Regulation School IPM 
Website: or contact                  
Belinda Messenger at                           
bmessenger@cdpr.ca.gov.   

 
Note: The requirements for the 
HSA are established in Education 
Code Section 17609, and Health 
and Safety Code Section 1596.845. 

PEST MANAGEMENT AND THE HEALTHY 
SCHOOLS ACT  
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CDPR website 

offers information 

like: 

 Pesticide use 

report 

 HSA 

 Laws and 

Regulations 

 Model 

Programs 

 Training 

requirements 

for HSA 

 Contact 

information 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 

http://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/schoolipm/school_ipm_law/main.cfm
http://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/schoolipm/school_ipm_law/main.cfm
mailto:bmessenger@cdpr.ca.gov
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=60046221716+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=60046221716+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=60051821904+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=60051821904+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/
http://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/schoolipm/main.cfm


 

 

California law allows the transfer of 
active criminal record clearance 
and exemption information           
between contracting county        
licensing offices and between    
contracting counties and state     
licensing offices, as long as the 
clearance is for the same licensing 
category.  

Did you know? 

 A clearance can remain active 
as long as the individual is     
associated to a licensed facility. 
If an individual is disassociated 
from a facility, he/she must be 
associated to another facility  
(or the same facility if they are    
rehired) within two years or    
he/she will become inactive.  

 If an individual becomes        
inactive, he/she must be printed 
and cleared again before    
working, residing or                
volunteering in a licensed       
facility.  

 Licensees should not request           
individuals with active         
clearances to be reprinted and 
should submit a transfer request 
to the Department before the 
individual has contact with     
children or the facility will be in 
violation of the law and subject 
to civil penalties.  

Interested in transferring       

criminal clearances? 

A licensee or applicant for a license 
seeking a transfer must provide the 
following documentation:  

1. A signed Criminal Background 

Clearance Transfer Request, 
LIC 9182 (Rev. 4/02). 

2. A copy of the individual's      
driver's license, or 

3. A valid identification card issued 
by Department of Motor         
Vehicles, or 

4. A valid photo identification     
issued by another state or the 
United States government if the 
individual is not a California   
resident. 

5. Any other documentation       
required by the Department 
(e.g., LIC 508, Criminal Record 
Statement [Rev. 1/03] and job 
description). 

Additionally, a Child Abuse Central 
Index (CACI) check must be      
submitted if the transfer is to a    
facility serving children and the    
individual has not previously        
submitted a CACI check or the date 
of the previous CACI inquiry was 
made prior to January 1, 1999. 

Remember, it is the licensee’s               
responsibility to ensure employees, 
adult residents and volunteers 
specified in law, have criminal    
record clearances for each license 
and that licensing is notified of 
changes to the roster and criminal 
record clearances.   
 
To learn more about the criminal 
background clearance                 
requirements and the associated 
civil penalties, we encourage you to 
read Health & Safety Code Section 
1596.871, and California Code of 
Regulations, Title 22, Sections 
101170, 101195, 102370 and 
102395.  

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK TRANSFER 

REQUIREMENTS 
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Community Care 

Licensing 

Division 

(Fingerprinting) 

website provides 

the following: 

 Background 

Check 

Process 

 Livescan 

Application 

Process and 

Fees 

 California 

Background 

Clearance 

 Employment 

Agencies 

 TrustLine 

 Child Abuse 

Central Index 

(CACI) 

http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG831.htm
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG240.htm
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG240.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG404.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG404.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG404.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG404.htm


 

 

In a study conducted by the       

University of California, Berkeley, it 

was revealed that most              

contaminant levels in child care 

and preschool facilities were similar 

to those measured in other studies 

in California schools and            

residences.  For chemicals with 

health based dose or exposure 

benchmarks, levels for most were 

usually below levels of concern. 

However, a few chemicals          

exceeded health guideline levels 

and mitigation strategies may be 

warranted to reduce exposure to 

those chemicals, especially                  

formaldehyde. 

What can child care facilities do 

to reduce potential exposures?  

California Environmental        

Protection Agency recommends 

the following: 

 Purchase wood products and 

furniture that comply with      

California’s formaldehyde     

regulations.  Purchase pressed 

wood furnishings and building        

materials labeled as California 

93120 Compliant for             

Formaldehyde Phase two, or   

products certified as California 

ultra low emitting formaldehyde. 

 Request and purchase low     

formaldehyde products.  Also, 

wash permanent press clothing 

before wearing. 

 Turn on the range hood when 

using a gas stove.  Increasing 

ventilation with outdoor air will 

also help reduce indoor         

formaldehyde levels. 

 Clean frequently to minimize 

dust, especially with a High   

Efficiency Particle Arrestance 

vacuum cleaner.  This can     

reduce exposure to compounds 

such as lead and other metals, 

and some phthalates that are 

largely found in dust. 

 Clean out old pesticides,       

solvents, and cleaning products.  

To help reduce indoor levels of 

pesticides and volatile organic 

compounds. 

To read the study regarding         

environmental exposures in family 

based child care facilities          

conducted by researchers from the 

University of California, Berkeley 

please visit the Air Resources 

Board website. 

 

AIR POLLUTION AND CONTAMINANTS AT CHILD 
CARE FACILITIES 
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GENERAL HEALTH AND SAFETY INFORMATION 

Revisit the 

October 2008 

Child Care 

Update to read 

our Be Green! Go      

Eco-Healthy 

article and review 

helpful tips. 

 

Visit the          

Eco-Healthy 

Child Care 

Program website 

for additional tips 

for going green. 

 

http://www.arb.ca.gov/html/fact_sheets/preschool_exposure.pdf
http://www.arb.ca.gov/homepage.htm
http://www.arb.ca.gov/homepage.htm
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdate1008.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdate1008.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdate1008.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/EHCCPoster.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/EHCCPoster.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/EHCCPoster.pdf


 

 

California law (effective January 1, 

2012) states each child must be 

properly restrained in a child safety 

seat, booster seat or other restraint 

system in the back seat, until the 

child is eight years old or at least 

4’9” in height.  Passengers who are 

16 years of age and over are    

subject to California’s mandatory 

seat belt law.  Vehicle Code      

Section 27360 and California Code 

of Regulations, Title 22, Section 

101225. 

 

To assist you in assuring the health 

and safety of children in care, we 

wanted to share with you the,     

California Highway Patrol (CHP)      

recommendation for keeping      

children safe in vehicles. 

Step 1 

Rear - Facing Seats 

 Infant only or rear-facing      

convertible seat. 

 Newborn to at least one year of 

age and at least 20 pounds. 

 May stay rear-facing longer to 

maximum rear-facing weight 

limit of infant or convertible 

seat. 

Step 2 

Forward—Facing Seats               

(with a harness) 

 Convertible or combination 

seat. 

 Children must be a least one 

year of age and 20 pounds. 

 Children should remain in         

5-point harness until they reach 

the top weight or height limit  

allowed. 

Step 3 

Booster Seats                           

(high-back or backless) 

 Children under eight years of 

age or under 4’9” in height. 

 High-back or boosters must be 

used when the vehicle does not 

have a head-rest or if vehicle’s 

seat back is lower than child’s 

ears. 

 Must be used with lap and 

shoulder belts. 

 Never use with lap belt only. 

 Recommended to use until child 

fits seat belt correctly as        

described below. 

Step 4 

Seat Belt 

 Children eight years of age or 

4’9” in height are permitted to 

use a seat belt; however, the 

seat belt should be checked for 

proper fit. 

 To confirm if a child over eight 

years old can safely ride in a 

seat belt alone, all of the        

following should occur: 

 Child can sit with back 

against vehicle seat back. 

 Knees bend naturally over 

the edge of vehicle seat. 

 Lap belt fits low and snug 

across top of thighs. 

 Shoulder belt crosses the 

collar-bone and center of 

chest. 

CHILD SAFETY SEATS 
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Visit CHP website to 

view frequently 

asked questions 

regarding child 

safety. 

The National 

Highway Traffic 

Safety 

Administration  

website has links to 

recalled items and 

child safety 

information like: 

 Car Seats and 

Booster Basics 

 Car Seat 

Installation Tips 

 Securing 

Children in a 

Vehicle 

 Instructional 

Videos 

http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27360.htm
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG240.htm
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG240.htm
http://www.chp.ca.gov/community/child_safetyseat_faqs.html
http://www.nhtsa.gov/
http://www.nhtsa.gov/
http://www.nhtsa.gov/
http://www.nhtsa.gov/


 

 

Become a subject matter expert 

and help spread the word and    

reduce the risk of Sudden Infant 

Death Syndrome (SIDS) and other 

sleep related causes of infant 

death. 

1. Sleep related causes of infant 
death are those linked to how or 
where a baby sleeps or slept. 

2. SIDS is the leading cause of 
death in babies one month to 
one year of age. 

3. Most SIDS deaths happen 
when babies are between one 
month and four months of age. 

4. Babies should have tummy time 
while they are awake and when 
someone is watching them. 

When infants are in your care, 

please remember….. 

 Infants sleep safest on their 

backs.   

 An infant’s sleep surface      

matters. 

 Keep soft objects, toys, and 

loose bedding out of the baby’s 

sleep area. 

 Do not smoke around babies.  

 Do not share a bed. 

 Infants must be actively         

supervised while sleeping in a 

safe sleep environment. 

 Sleeping areas are to be       

ventilated and at a temperature 

that is comfortable for a lightly 

clothed adult.  Do not let a baby 

get too hot while sleeping. 

 Report events including death 

or injury requiring medical  

treatment. Per California Code 

of Regulations, Title 22, Section 

101212 for Child Care Centers, 

Section 102416.2 for Family 

Child Care Homes, and Health 

and Safety Code, Section 

1597.467. 

Does your safe sleep environment  

look like this? 

 

 

 

 

 

PROVIDING A SAFE SLEEP ENVIRONMENT 
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Did you know….. 

 SIDS is the 

sudden, 

unexplained 

death of a baby 

under the age of 

one and there is 

no known cause 

even after a 

complete 

investigation. 

 Unexpected 

sudden deaths 

with or without a 

clear cause are 

called “Sudden 

Unexpected 

Infant 

Death” (SUID).     

One-half of all 

SUID cases are 

SIDS. 

http://www.cdss.ca.gov/ord/PG587.htm
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/ord/PG587.htm
http://ccld.ca.gov/PG831.htm
http://ccld.ca.gov/PG831.htm


 

 

The United States Department of      

Agriculture (USDA) nutrition       

program “Grow It, Try It, Like It!” is 

organized around a garden theme, 

based at the imaginary Tasty Acres 

Farm.  The program introduces 

new fruits and vegetables to       

preschool age children.  The goal is 

to improve children’s lifelong eating 

and physical activity habits through   

nutrition education based on the 

principles of the Dietary Guidelines 

for Americans and the MyPyramid 

Food Guidance System. 

Routine food choices for young 

children are determined by their 

families and adult care givers. 

Grow It, Try It, Like It! links         

activities at child care facilities with     

resources for use at home.  For   

example, children touch, smell, and 

taste new fruits and vegetables at 

home and at a child care facility.        

Children also learn that fruits and     

vegetables are grown from plants 

or trees in the ground.  Planting  

activities will help children connect 

the delicious food choices at the 

table with the different growing  

conditions and plants that produce 

fruits and vegetables. 

When to start planting              

activities….. 

 Growing all or some of the fruits 

and vegetables provides      

children with fun-filled growing   

seasons.   

 Check with local nurseries,         

orchards, and farms to plan field 

trips to see as many of the fruits 

and vegetables grown at the 

Tasty Acres Farm. 

 Strawberries and spinach are 

spring and early summer crops. 

 Cantaloupe, crookneck squash, 

and peaches are summer and 

late summer crops. 

 Sweet potatoes are early fall 

crops. 

Grow It, Try It, Like It! Consists of  

seven booklets.  Booklet one    

contains the Introduction, Teaching 

Guide, Garden Art and Crafts and 

Tool Shed Resources.  Booklets 

two through seven contain the    

activities for the six fruit and       

vegetable lessons. 

Visit the USDA website to learn 

how incorporate Grow It, Try It, 

Like It! Into your program. 

 

GROW IT, TRY IT, LIKE IT! 
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USDA website 

offers information 

and resources like: 

 A Resource 

Library 

 Training Grants 

 MyPlate 

 Eat Smart. Play 

Hard 

 Healthier US 

Schools 

 Free Email 

Updates 

 Activities for 

Children 

 Graphics Library 

and much more 

http://teamnutrition.usda.gov/Resources/growit.html
http://teamnutrition.usda.gov/Resources/growit.html
http://teamnutrition.usda.gov/Resources/growit.html
http://teamnutrition.usda.gov/Resources/growit.html
http://teamnutrition.usda.gov/Resources/growit.html
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EXTRA! EXTRA! READ ALL ABOUT IT 

LICENSING ENFORCEMENT OF DROP SIDE CRIBS 

What we know about the new 
crib standards …  

 Beginning December 28, 2012, 
any crib used by Child Care 
Centers and Family Child Care 
Homes must meet new and   
improved federal safety      
standards.  

 The Consumer Product Safety 
Commission banned the use of 
drop-side cribs.  

 This ban is more than a drop 
side issue, and immobilizing 
your current crib will not make it 
compliant.  

 You cannot determine          
compliance by looking at the 
product.  

 
As it relates to licensing           

enforcement …  
 All Child Care Centers and 

Family Child Care Homes must 
replace their current cribs with 
new, compliant cribs before   
December 28, 2012.  

 No Citation will be issued by  
licensing prior to                    
December 28, 2012.  

 Child care facilities that         
continue to use drop-side cribs 
for children in care beginning 
December 28, 2012, are in    
violation of a child’s personal 
rights: California Code of      
Regulations, Section 101223(a)
(2) for Child Care Centers, and 
Section 102423(a)(2) for Family 
Child Care Homes.  

 
The licensee shall ensure that each 
child is accorded safe, healthful 
and comfortable accommodations, 
furnishings and equipment to meet 
his/her needs.  
 
To learn more about the drop-side 
crib recall, and enforcement    
guidelines visit the Consumer  
Product Safety Commission     
website. 
 

Recall Information 

The U.S. Consumer 

Product Safety 

Commission (CPSC) 

advises consumers 

to stop using 

recalled products 

immediately unless 

otherwise instructed.  

In addition, it is 

illegal to resell or 

attempt to resell a 

recalled consumer        

product.  

It is the responsibility 

of the licensee to 

ensure the health 

and safety of all 

children in their care.  

Licensees are to 

follow            

manufacturer labels 

and adhere to all 

recall instructions 

provided by the 

CPSC.  Licensees 

may visit the CPSC 

website and 

subscribe to receive 

recall alerts on 

consumer products.  

The Nap Nanny is a portable infant 

recliner designed for sleeping,   

resting and playing.  The recliner 

includes a shaped foam base with 

an inclined indentation for the baby 

to sit and a fitted fabric cover with a 

three point harness.  Between 2009 

and early 2012 thousands of Nap 

Nanny’s were sold at retail          

establishments.  The CPSC has 

discontinued this product.  At the 

time of the July 2010 recall, CPSC 

was aware of one death that had        

occurred in a Nap Nanny recliner 

and 22 reports of infants hanging or 

falling out over the side of the Nap 

Nanny.  For additional information 

visit the CPSC website. 

NAP NANNY RECALLED 

http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml13/13058.html
http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml13/13058.html
http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml13/13058.html
http://www.cpsc.gov
http://www.cpsc.gov
http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml13/13058.html
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CHILDREN AND HIGH CHOLESTEROL 

PREVENT THE SPREAD OF BACTERIA 

Did you know children can have 

high cholesterol? 

Middle aged adults are not the    

only ones with cholesterol        

problems.  The Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention states     

almost one in ten children and        

teenagers have higher cholesterol 

levels.  This puts them on a track 

that could lead to heart disease as 

adults. 

Serving healthy economic meals 

can aid in the reduction of high  

cholesterol in children.   

Helpful tips: 

 Serve fruits and vegetables that 

are in season.  Learn about the 

Tasty Acres Farm and how to 

grow fruits and vegetables at 

United States Department of     

Agriculture’s website. 

 Plan meals in advance.  

ChooseMyPlate.gov for useful 

tips. 

Learn more about children and high 

cholesterol at healthfinder.gov.   

Great tips to help prevent food    
poisoning. 
 
 Wash hands often.  Please    

revisit our Fall 2012 Child Care 
Update (page 10) for detailed       
instructions. 

 
 Make sure utensils and          

surfaces, are washed             
immediately to avoid spreading 
bacteria to the children in your 
care.  Bacteria can spread 
throughout the kitchen and get 
onto cutting boards, utensils and 
counter tops.  Wash all fruits 
and vegetables.  Do not wash 
meat, poultry, or eggs.  Keep in 
mind, even if you plan to peel 
fruits and vegetables prior to 
eating them, it is extremely    

important to wash them first.  
The bacteria can spread from 
the outside to the inside as they 
are cut or peeled.   

 
Visit foodsafety.gov to learn how to 
prevent the spread of bacteria and 
learn why meat, poultry and eggs 
should not be washed. 
 

For additional 

information 

regarding 

children and high 

cholesterol visit 

the United States 

Department of 

Health and 

Human Services 

website. 

A quick guide to 

healthy living. 

Visit the Center 

for Disease 

Control and 

Prevention to 

learn how to stop 

spreading germs 

at home, work 

and school. 

Also Take three 

actions to fight 

the flu. 

http://usda.gov/wps/portal/usda/usdahome
http://usda.gov/wps/portal/usda/usdahome
http://www.choosemyplate.gov/
http://healthfinder.gov/
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdatesAutumn2012.pdf
http://www.foodsafety.gov/keep/basics/clean/index.html
http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/preventing.htm
http://www.healthfinder.gov/news/newsstory.aspx?docID=667462
http://www.healthfinder.gov/news/newsstory.aspx?docID=667462
http://www.healthfinder.gov/news/newsstory.aspx?docID=667462
http://www.healthfinder.gov/news/newsstory.aspx?docID=667462
http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/stopgerms.htm
http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/stopgerms.htm
http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/stopgerms.htm
http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/stopgerms.htm
http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/preventing.htm
http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/preventing.htm
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SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TRAGEDY 

The Community Care Licensing         

Division, Child Care Program would 

like to express our deepest        

sympathy for the victims and the 

families of the Sandy Hook tragedy. 

Due to this recent tragedy in      

Connecticut, we understand many 

facilities will be revisiting their  

emergency disaster plans.  Prior to    

making any changes consult with 

your local fire marshal and regional 

office to ensure compliance with 

the applicable laws.  We will be         

addressing the issue of safety at 

centers and homes in more detail 

in our next update. 

CHAPTERED LEGISLATION  

LIQUID LAUNDRY PACKETS 

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety 
Commission (CPSC) is advising 
parents and caregivers to lock up 
single-load liquid laundry packets 
and keep them away from children. 

Liquid laundry packets are          
attractive to children because they 
are soft and colorful and resemble 
familiar items like candy and    
teething products. 

These items also dissolve quickly 
when placed in the mouth or are 
handled with wet hands. Children 
who are exposed to the chemicals 
are at risk of serious injury because 
they can be toxic. 

CPSC recommends these steps to 

prevent unintentional poisonings 
and eye injuries: 

1. Do not let children handle    
laundry packets. 

2. Keep the liquid laundry packets 
sealed in their original         
packaging, and make sure they 
are locked up and out of a 
child’s sight and reach. 

3. If swallowed or exposed to the 
eye, immediately call Poison 
Help at 1-800-222-1222. 

Learn more about single load    

laundry packets by reading the 

CPSC flyer (PDF).  

A summary and implementation 
plan for pertinent bills chaptered in 
2012 that affect Child Care Centers         
and Family Child Care Homes is 
available on the Community Care 
Licensing Division (CCLD) website.  
Unless otherwise noted in the                 
Implementation Plans, these bills 
are effective on January 1, 2013. 
Licensees are encouraged to      
review the plans to ensure       

compliance with the provisions of 
these bills.  If you have any        
questions, you are encouraged to 
contact your local licensing office. 
As a reminder, licensees are      
responsible for complying with    
other new laws that impact facility 
operation.  

California Emergency 

Management Agency 

website offers 

information like: 

 School Safety 

 Active Shooter 

Guidebook—How 

to Respond 

http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/pubs/390.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/PG3063.htm
http://ccld.ca.gov/PG3063.htm
http://www.calema.ca.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.calema.ca.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.calema.ca.gov/newsandmedia/pages/current%20news%20and%20events/school-safety.aspx
http://www.calema.ca.gov/newsandmedia/pages/current%20news%20and%20events/school-safety.aspx
http://www.calema.ca.gov/newsandmedia/pages/current%20news%20and%20events/school-safety.aspx
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RACE TO THE TOP 

The Race to the Top—Early    

Learning Challenge (RTT- ELC)   

initiative focuses on improving early 

learning and development          

programs for young children by 

supporting states efforts to: 

1. Increase the number and      

percentage of low-income and 

disadvantaged children in each 

age group of infants, toddlers, 

and preschoolers who are     

enrolled in high-quality early 

learning programs. 

2. Design and implement an      

integrated system of              

high-quality early learning     

programs and services. 

3. Ensure use of assessments that 

conform the recommendations 

of the National Research     

Council's reports on early    

childhood. 

California will use a portion of the 

RTT-ELC grant to enhance the  

California Department of Social 

Services (CDSS) Child Care       

Licensing Program’s website to  

include educational and training 

materials for consumers and      

providers. 

Through the enhancement of the 

Child Care Licensing Program’s 

website and embarking into the 

eLearning wave of the educational 

future, it is believed CDSS will be 

able to: 

 Educate child care providers on 

how to ensure compliance with    

licensing laws and regulations. 

 Provide technical assistance to 

child care providers and        

consumers related to health and 

safety of children. 

 Provide the public and licensing 

staff with resources and           

information related to child care 

licensing. 

Please visit our website on a          

regular basis to view new              

developments and remain in touch 

with us regarding the RTT-ELC  

initiative. 

 

 

 

 

Race to the Top  - 
Early Learning 
Challenge    
(RTT—ELC) 
partners: 

 

California 
Department of 
Education 

 

United States 
Department of 
Education 

 

Please visit both 
websites to learn 
more about   
RTT—ELC. 

http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/rt/rttelcapproach.asp
http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/rt/rttelcapproach.asp
http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/rt/rttelcapproach.asp
http://www2.ed.gov/programs/racetothetop-district/index.html
http://www2.ed.gov/programs/racetothetop-district/index.html
http://www2.ed.gov/programs/racetothetop-district/index.html
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LICENSED CHILD CARE STATISTICS 

If you have questions about items included in this Update, suggestions 

for future topics, or to be added to our mailing address, please contact   

Paula d’Albenas, Program Administrator, at (916) 651-6040.  You may 

also visit our internet website at www.ccld.ca.gov to obtain copies of    

licensing Updates, office locations, provider letters, regulations, forms, 

the Licensing Evaluator Manual, or to learn more about licensing          

programs and services. 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 

JEFFREY HIRATSUKA  
Deputy Director  
Community Care Licensing Division  

All statistics regarding State and county licensed child care facilities can 

be obtained by visiting the Child Care Licensing Division 

(CCLD) licensing statistics webpage.   

http://www.ccld.ca.gov
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG833.htm

