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LICENSING MANAGEMENT INFORMATION 

We want to wish Brian Barnett,   

Regional Manager of the Fresno 

Child Care Regional Office, a    

happy retirement after completing 

38 years of state service!  He     

began his career working with the         

Department of Vocational           

Rehabilitation for 11 years.  Brian 

has worked for the Community 

Care Licensing Division for over 27 

years.  He worked as a Licensing 

Program Analyst in both the        

residential and child care programs 

in Southern California.  He          

promoted to a Licensing Program 

Supervisor in the Senior Care    

Program and in 2004 relocated to 

become the Regional Manager of 

the Fresno Child Care Regional  

Office.  Brian has been an excellent 

manager.  His dedication and 

strong passion for protecting clients 

in care will be remembered.  We 

will miss Brian, but we are very 

happy for him as he is looking     

forward to more time to devote to 

golf.  Congratulations Brian!   

Child Care Program Mission: 

The Child Care Licensing Program 

licenses and monitors Family Child 

Care Homes (FCCH) and Child 

Care Centers (CCC) in an effort to 

ensure that they provide a safe and 

healthy environment for children 

who are in day care. 

In keeping the child care          

community informed about          

licensing programs and               

requirements and services, the  

Updates continue to be an          

important method for sharing      

information.  We appreciate your 

support in sharing these Updates 

with those in your organization and 

others interested in child care     

issues.  You may find the topic of 

your choice in each Update by 

clicking on the link provided in the 

“Inside This Issue” and “Extra!    

Extra! Headings” table on the left 

side of this page.  Click on the     

underlined feature and you will be 

taken to that area of the Update. 



 

 

It is imperative that all personnel 
are knowledgeable of and            
understand the laws regarding the 
California Department of Social 
Services inspection authority.  
 
Any duly authorized officer,        
employee, or agent of the           
Department may, upon          
presentation of proper               
identification, enter and inspect any 
place providing personal care,    
supervision, and services at any 
time, with or without advance      
notice, to secure compliance with, 
or to prevent a violation of, this act 
or the regulations adopted by the          
Department pursuant to the act, in 
accordance with Health and Safety   
Code, Section 1596.852. 
 
The inspection authority               
includes, but is not limited to: 
 

Investigating complaints of     
unlicensed care  
Interviewing staff and children 
Observing the physical          
condition of children in care  
Auditing and copying facility 
records  

 
During inspections, areas that are 
deemed off limits on a facility 
sketch are not generally inspected.     
However, when children are       
present or suspected to be in an 
area designated as “off limits,”    
inspection of these areas are     
necessary and permitted in order to 
determine the adequacy of care 
and supervision.  If an off limits   
area contains any item(s) that is to 
be inspected by the Department 
such as:  firearms, ammunition,          
medication, toxins, etc., then the 
area is no longer off limits.  

Page 2 CHILD CARE UPDATE  SUMMER 2013 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 

To learn more, read 
Health and Safety 
Code Sections 
1596.852, 1596.853, 
and 1596.8535; and 
California Code of  
Regulations, Sections 
101200 (Child Care 
Centers) and 102391 
(Family Child Care 
Homes).  
 
 

INSPECTION AUTHORITY 

 

Licensees are required to meet all licensing laws and regulations.  It is critical to the health and 

safety of children in CCCs and FCCHs that licensees routinely review their facilities and homes to 

ensure that all licensing requirements are met.  To assist with your review, Community Care 

Licensing has identified the most serious licensing requirements which, if not met, could jeopardize 

the health and safety of children in your care.  If your review is done on a regular basis, it could 

prevent some of the most serious violations from occurring.  Click on “Self Evaluation” for tips to 

assist your facility in meeting licensing requirements. 

SELF EVALUATION  

http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/12APX06.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/12APX06.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/PG555.htm
http://ccld.ca.gov/PG555.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG491.htm


 

 

Here are some helpful hints for   
licensees working through the    
appeal process once a citation has 
been issued. 

Some of the Licensees  

Responsibilities….. 

Notify the licensing agency in 
writing and within 10 business 
days after service of the citation 
you are appealing 

Review the Complaint            
Investigation Form 

Start and complete all Plan of 
Corrections (POCs) by the due 
date stated on the complaint 

How to Appeal….. 

Level I—A licensee may file an  
appeal with the Licensing Program 
Manager (LPM) within 10 working 
days from the date the report or 
penalty assessment notice is      
received.  The LPMs contact       
information is on the licensing     
report. 

Level II—A second level appeal 
can be made to the Regional    
Manager (RM) if the licensee     
disagrees with the decision made 
by the LPM.  The request must be 
made in writing after receiving the 
written decision from the LPM. 

Level III—A third level appeal must 
be made to the Assistant Program             
Administrator (APA) if you disagree 
with the decision the RM made.  
The request for review must be 
made in writing after you receive 
the decision made by the RM. 

Level IV—If you disagree with the 
decision the APA made, you can   
request a review of your appeal by 
the Program Administrator (PA) of   
Community Care Licensing         
Division, Child Care Program.  

All appeals will be responded to in 
writing.  Click here (LIC 9058) for 
detailed instructions on how to   
complete the appeal process. 
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CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

KNOW YOUR APPEAL RIGHTS 

California Health and Safety Code, Section 1596.893(c) states, “If a       

licensee disagrees with a citation or proposed assessment of a civil 

penalty, the facility shall, within 10 business days after service of the 

citation, notify the licensing agency in writing of a request for an         

informal conference.  At the conclusion of the conference, the licensing 

agency may affirm, modify, or dismiss the citation or proposed penalty.  

The agency shall state in writing the reasons for any action taken in the 

informal conference.” 

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/forms/english/lic9058.pdf
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG398.htm


 

 

Most babies experience diaper 

rash, and for the most part the rash 

is not serious.   

What is diaper rash?  Diaper rash 

is any rash that develops within the 

diaper area.  Children with a mild 

case of diaper rash experience red 

skin.  In more severe cases, there 

may be painful open sores.  The 

red skin and sores are normally 

found around the groin and inside 

the folds of the upper thighs and 

buttocks.   

What are some of the causes of 

diaper rash?   

Too much moisture 

Chafing or rubbing 

Urine, stools or both touch the 

skin for long periods of time 

Yeast infection 

Bacterial infection 

Allergic reaction to diaper     

material 

 

When skin stays wet too long, it 

starts to break down.  When the 

skin is rubbed, it also damages 

more easily.  Moisture from a soiled 

diaper can harm a baby’s skin and 

make it more prone to chafing.  

When this happens, a diaper rash 

may develop. 

 

Babies often experience diaper 

rash between four and 15 months 

of age.  Diaper rash occurs more 

often when: 

Babies get older 

Babies are not kept clean and 

dry 

Babies have frequent stools 

Babies begin to eat solid foods 

Babies are taking antibiotics 

 

Per healthfinder.com, diaper rash 

can be avoided by not using     

products that contain alcohol or   

fragrances since these can irritate 

skin.  Instead of using wipes,       

try the following:  

Use a small squeeze water   

bottle with warm water to clean 

the bottom and pat dry with a 

soft, clean disposable towel 

Try to expose the skin to air 

whenever possible 

Change the diaper frequently to 

ensure the skin is clean and dry 

Give an oatmeal bath or soak to 

help soothe the skin and ease 

the child’s discomfort 

 

If the child’s skin does not improve 

within two to three days they may 

have a yeast rash and the parent 

may want to take the child to a   

pediatrician. 
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GENERAL HEALTH AND SAFETY INFORMATION 

California Code of    

Regulations (CCR),   

Title 22, Child Care 

Centers, Section 

101428(b)(1),  

“The infant shall be 

kept clean and dry at 

all times.  The infant 

care center shall 

ensure that the infant 

has sufficient 

changes of clothing 

and diapers so that 

his/her clothing and 

diapers can be clean 

and dry at all times.  

Each infant’s clothing 

and diapers shall be 

changed as often as 

necessary to ensure 

that the infant is 

clean and dry at all 

times.” 

 

 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

DIAPER RASH 

http://healthfinder.gov
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG398.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG398.htm


 

 

One of the best ways to protect 

children is to make sure they have 

all of their vaccinations.  In an effort 

to prevent the spread of serious 

vaccine preventable diseases, the 

parent or authorized representative 

is required to show proof that the 

child has received the                 

age-appropriate vaccinations or an    

exemption.  California Department 

of Public Health (CDPH) requires 

every facility to record each        

enrollee’s immunizations on the 

California School Immunization 

Record, obtainable free of charge 

from your local health department. 

Child care facilities are also        

required by law to report annually 

the immunization status of child 

care enrollees at:  

www.shotsforschool.org by        

October 1
st

.  You will receive     

immunization reporting instructions 

from your local health department 

by September when the reporting 

website opens. 

 

 

 

For information on CDPH            
requirements regarding               
immunization reporting click on the 
link above. 
 
To learn more about California   
licensing requirements review the 
California Code of Regulations,  
Title 22, Sections 101220.1 and 
102418, and the California Health 
and Safety Code, Section 120375. 
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CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

LEARN 

MORE! 

IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS 

 

Did you know 

that annual 

immunization 

reporting to 

California     

Department 

of Public 

Health is        

required by 

Law? 

http://eziz.org/assets/docs/IMM-230.pdf
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/immunize/Pages/CaliforniaLocalHealthDepartments.aspx
http://www.shotsforschool.org
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/Pages/DEFAULT.aspx
http://ccld.ca.gov/PG398.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG398.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG398.htm
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG398.htm


 

 

According to California Civil Code 

Section 43.3, “Notwithstanding any 

other provision of law, a mother 

may breastfeed her child in any  

location, public or private, except 

the private home or residence of 

another, where the mother and the 

child are otherwise authorized to be 

present.” 

 

The following best practices are 

ways you can support the       

breastfeeding moms and babies in 

your child care facility: 

 

Educate your staff: 

Teach teachers and assistants 

about breast milk storage and 

refrigeration, and about the    

importance of using the breast 

milk that mothers bring in for 

their babies. 

Train your staff on the different 

practices of breastfeeding.   

Establish policies and           

procedures relating to       

breastfeeding. 

 
Create an ideal environment to 
pump or nurse: 

If you are short on space,     
consider converting an unused 
corner or closet into a       
breastfeeding/pumping station 
that is clean, private, and     
comfortable.   

Do not use a bathroom. 

 

All you need is: 

A relaxing chair 

A small table for her pump and 

bottle supplies 

An electrical outlet (for electric 

breast pumps) 

A privacy barrier (a door,       

curtain, or room divider) 

 

Some additional items can be: 

Soothing music or lullabies 

Educational material (lactation 

information) 

Reassure nursing mothers they 

are welcome to breastfeed 

 

Do not throw away breast milk  
before talking to the mother.  
When a mother pumps her milk, 
it becomes very important to her 
and her baby.  It is completely 
normal for breast milk to: 

Look slightly blue, yellow, or 
brown when refrigerated or    
frozen 
Separate into a creamy-looking 
layer and a lighter, more        
milk-like layer 

 
All of that is OK — and no reason 
to pour breast milk down the drain.  
(It is recommended that the       
provider give the unused breast 
milk back to the mother or           
authorized representative at the 
end of each day). 
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SUPPORTING THE BREAST FEEDING MOTHER 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/healthinfo/healthyliving/childfamily/Pages/CaliforniaLawsRelatedtoBreastfeeding.aspxC:/Users/cmasuret/Documents/ANDRE


 

 

Supervise: 

Licensing regulations require that 

licensees provide care and         

supervision to every child.  Visual 

supervision is the key to             

preventing injuries.  A supervising 

adult must closely supervise      

children while playing or swimming 

by keeping eyes on the children at 

all times.  Injuries take an        

enormous financial, emotional, and 

social toll on children and families.  

 

Keep them safe: 

Keeping the children in your care 

safe is important all year long;  

however, additional risks are         

increased during the summer 

months because of pools and other 

water-related activities.  Extra      

supervision is important when   

children play near water - not just 

around pools and hot tubs, but also 

near buckets, wading pools, and 

toilets. 

For CCCs, at least one adult who 

has a valid water safety certification 

on file at the facility must be       

present during water activities and 

when in or near bodies of water. 

Prevent: 

Since preventable injury is the 

number one killer of children in the 

United States, let’s try to remember 

these useful tips to keep children 

safe: 

Educate children about risks 

Demonstrate proper use of 

safety devices 

Never leave a child in a car 

without adult supervision 

Keep medicines and other    

dangerous materials out of 

reach 

Take measures to prevent      

toddlers from falling down stairs 

and out of windows through the 

use of barricades, etc. 

Demonstrate proper use of    

helmets, booster seats, and car 

seats 
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Feel free to review 

previous Child Care 

Updates for information 

regarding Injury 

Prevention and 

Reporting: 

Spring 2009 and  

Fall 2010  

Be aware.  
Be a good example. 

 Be safe. 
AND remember  

there is no 
substitute for  

Visual Supervision   

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

INJURY PREVENTION 

Take A Look! 

http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdate0409.pdf
http://ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdateFall10.pdf
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EXTRA! EXTRA! READ ALL ABOUT IT 

HELPFUL RESOURCES 

 
 

 

Research shows that good nutrition is important to the development 
of cognitive abilities in the preschool years and that participation in 
the Child Care Food Program (CACFP) is a major factor influencing 

quality child care.  

CACFP plays a vital role in improving the quality of day care for children 
and elderly adults by making child care more affordable for many         
low-income families.  
   
Through CACFP, more than 3.3 million children and 120,000 adults     
receive nutritious meals and snacks each day as part of the day care 
they receive. 
 
See how CACFP can make a difference in the quality of your               
program!   Whether you are a provider in your home, at a day care     
center, in an afterschool care program, or in an emergency shelter, you 
will find many useful resources for serving nutritious meals and snacks.   
 
Helpful Nutritional Daily Tips from Choose My Plate, from USDA 

 
 
 
 

Diaper Banks—many communities are responding to the growing 
need for Diaper Banks.  Diaper Banks serve communities by      
providing diapers to infants and toddlers in need.  Click on the link to 
learn more about Diaper Banks and how to start a diaper bank to aid 
individuals during emergency situations and/or to locate and pick up 
diapers in your area. 

 
Baby Talk—Subscribe to Baby Talk today—Baby Talk is a free,     
one-way listserv that is distributed monthly.  Each issue features      
resources for providers and parents that are high quality, readily  
available, and free.  To join the listserv send an email with no     

message to subscribe-babytalk@listserv.unc.edu. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
QUICK RESOURCE 
LINKS: 
 
Useful Ideas and 
Guides: 
 

10 Steps to 
Breastfeeding 
Friendly Child 
Care  

Center Child 
Care Tips: 
Breast Milk  

How to Support 
a Breastfeeding 
Mother: A Guide 
for Child Care 
Centers 

 
Shortage of TB 
Vaccines  

 
Food Bank 
Programs 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

Nutrition 

For Your Information 

We hope 

you find 

the new 

Resource   

addition 

helpful 

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cnd/care/
http://www.simonfoundation.org/Diaper%20Banks.html
mailto:subscribe-babytalk@listserv.unc.edu
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/physical-activity/Childcare/BFFChildCare.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/physical-activity/Childcare/BFFChildCare.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/physical-activity/Childcare/BFFChildCare.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/physical-activity/Childcare/BFFChildCare.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/physical-activity/Childcare/BFFChildCare.pdf
http://www.nfsmi.org/documentlibraryfiles/PDF/20071129021305.pdf
http://www.nfsmi.org/documentlibraryfiles/PDF/20071129021305.pdf
http://www.nfsmi.org/documentlibraryfiles/PDF/20071129021305.pdf
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/wichd/bf/childcare.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/wichd/bf/childcare.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/wichd/bf/childcare.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/wichd/bf/childcare.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/wichd/bf/childcare.shtm
http://www.cdc.gov/tb/
http://www.cdc.gov/tb/
http://www.cafoodbanks.org/
http://www.cafoodbanks.org/
http://content.govdelivery.com/accounts/USDACNPP/bulletins/7eeb54


 

 

Did you know the effects of  

swallowing pool water? 

From the United States Department 

of Health and Human Services:  

People are not the only creatures in 

a swimming pool.  Swimmers might 

introduce germs into the water.    

Chlorine and other disinfectants kill 

most germs within minutes, not   

instantly.  If you swallow pool     

water you risk swallowing germs 

that can cause waterborne         

diseases, which is especially a 

problem for children.  At the     

Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDCP), “Studies show 

that young children tend to drink 

more water while swimming than 

adults.  Because they drink more 

water, they are more likely to get 

sick.” 

CDCP advises caregivers to help   

protect kids by encouraging them 

to keep water out of their mouths.  

They can help to protect other kids 

by giving kids a pre-swim wash, not 

letting them swim with diarrhea, 

and taking children for restroom 

breaks every 60 minutes or    

checking diapers every 30 to 60 

minutes. 

Take time to practice pool safety 

No matter how safe you feel a child 

is around a body of water, adding 

as many proven safety steps as 

possible is the best system         

because you can never know which 

one might save a child’s life until it 

does. 

The Consumer Product Safety 

Commission (CPSC) website offers 

helpful tips, interactive educational 

activities and videos to teach     

children about swimming safely in 

bodies of water: 

Stay close, be alert, and watch 

children in and around all     

bodies of water 

Never leave children              

unattended in a body of water 

Teach children basic water 

safety tips 

Keep children away from pool 

drains, pipes, and other      

openings to avoid entrapments 

Have a telephone close by 

If a child is missing look for 

them in the body of water first 

Share safety instructions  
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Review time!  

Select a link to 

previous summer 

Child Care Updates: 

 

Summer 2012 

Help Keep 

Children Safe 

Summer 

Swimming Tips 

 

Summer 2011 

Heat and Sun 

Protection 

Information 

regarding artificial 

turf 

 

Summer 2010 

Choosing and 

Evaluating a Pest 

Control 

Contractor 

Center for 

Disease Control 

Pool Inspection 

Findings 

Protection From 

The Sun 

 

Enjoy your summer 

fun! 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

SUMMER PRECAUTIONS 

ALSO, Do not forget 

about personal 

health and safety 

in extreme heat 

http://www.hhs.gov/
http://www.hhs.gov/
http://www.cdc.gov/
http://www.cdc.gov/
http://www.poolsafely.gov/parents-families/simple-steps-save-lives/
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdateSummer2012.pdf
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdateSummer2011.pdf
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CCUpdateSummer10.pdf
http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.asp
http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.asp
http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.asp
http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.asp
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Recall Information 

The U.S. Consumer 

Product Safety 

Commission advises 

consumers to stop 

using recalled 

products immediately 

unless otherwise 

instructed.  In addition, 

it is illegal to resell or 

attempt to resell a 

recalled consumer        

product.  

It is the responsibility 

of the licensee to 

ensure the health and 

safety of all children in 

their care.  Licensees 

are to follow            

manufacturer labels 

and adhere to all recall 

instructions provided 

by the CPSC.  

Licensees may visit 

the CPSC website and 

subscribe to receive 

recall alerts on 

consumer products.  

Originally reported in our Winter 
2013 Update, the U.S. Consumer 
Product Safety Commission 
(CPSC) discontinued the Nap    
Nanny.  In cooperation with CPSC, 
Baby Matters Limited Liability  
Company (LLC) is now announcing 
a voluntary recall of all models of its 
Nap Nanny and Nap Nanny Chill 
infant recliners and covers.  This 
recall is announced as part of the 
settlement of an administrative case 
filed by CPSC in December 2012 

which sought a mandatory recall of 
the Nap Nanny and Chill products.    
Baby Matters LLC is no longer in 
business and is not accepting     
returns.  Consumers who           
purchased a Nap Nanny from one 
of these retailers should contact the 
retailer for instructions on how to 
obtain a refund for the product. 
 
For additional information visit the 
CPSC website. 
 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

The Licensing Program Analysts 
(LPAs) in the Child Care Program 
Regional Offices will be calling 
licensees soon to ask that 
licensee’s provide their email 
addresses if they have an email 
account.  The CCLD will be 
establishing an email recipient list 
using these addresses to send out 
email news such as Information 
Releases, Implementation Plans for 
new laws, quarterly newsletters, 

and other important 
information.   Using email will allow 
CCLD to provide this information in 
a less costly and more timely way 
to licensees who provide an email 
address and who report any 
change to their email address to 
their LPA.  During these calls, your 
LPA may also ask you about any 
other changes to your license in an 
effort to better serve you.   

Nap Nanny Recall Update 

Provider Email Blasts 

A faster way to get you the information you need! 

UPDATES 

http://www.cpsc.gov
http://www.cpsc.gov
http://www.cpsc.gov/en/Recalls/
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LICENSED CHILD CARE STATISTICS 

If you have questions about items included in this Update, suggestions 

for future topics, or would like to be added to our mailing list, please call 

(916) 651-6040.  You may also visit our internet website at 

www.ccld.ca.gov to obtain past Child Care Updates, and to learn more 

about child care licensing. 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

DAVID F. DODDS 
Interim Deputy Director  
Community Care Licensing Division  

All statistics regarding state and county licensed child care facilities can 

be obtained by visiting CCLD’s licensing statistics webpage. 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

http://www.ccld.ca.gov
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/PG833.htm

