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SUMMARY AND IMPLEMENATION PLANS
1999 CHAPTERED LEGISLATION

COMMUNITY CARE FACILITIES
(CHILDREN’S RESIDENTIAL)

BILL NUMBER/AUTHOR SUBJECT ' PAGE
ACTION REQUIRED
Assembly Bill (AB) Fingerprint Background Checks 1-3

1659 (Committee H&S)
INFORMATION ONLY — NO ACTION REQUIRED

AB 575 (Aroner) Child Welfare Services 4

AB 705 (Aroner) Reguiation of Transport Companies that 4
Transport or Accompany Children to Out-
Of-State Residential Facilities

Assembly Concurrent Child Abuse Prevention Month Assembly 5
Resolution (ACR) 7 Concurrent Resolution

{Battin)

ACR 26 (Wayne) California Safe Kids Week 5
Senate Bill (SB) Child Welfare Services: Out of Home 5
955 (Escutia) Care

When conducting visits, LPAs should ensure that
providers are aware of any new requirements.




ACTION REQUIRED

AB 1659 (Committee on Health and Safety), CHAPTER 881, STATUTES OF 1999

Affects: Group Homes, Foster Family Homes, Small Family Homes, Foster Family
Agencies and Adoption Agencies

Subject: Fingerprint Background Checks

Summary: This is a Department sponsored statute which reinstates background
check requirements for Community Care Facilities that were chaptered out of Senate
Bill 933. It amends Health and Safety Code Section 1522. AB 1659 is an emergency
bill, however different provisions of the bill became effective on different dates.

Implementation:

The following changes became effective December 9, 1999.

1. Background checks are now required for any staff person, volunteer, or employee
who has any client contact.

2. Fingerprints must be submitted to the California Department of Justice (DOJ) before
a person's employment, residence, or initial presence in the facility.

3. The licensee is now required to maintain documentation of all individual clearances
or exemptions, as part of the individual’s personnel file, and make them available for
inspection by the Department.

4, Licensees are subject to an immediate $100.00 Civil Penalty for each person
whose fingerprints were not submitted on time.

5. Criminal convictions from another state or federal court will be considered as if the
criminal offense was committed in California.

6. A request to transfer an individual's criminal record clearance from one state-
licensed facility to another must be submitted in writing to the appropriate licensing
district office.

» The licensee, administrator, or manager who is seeking to transfer a person’s
clearance must confirm the person'’s identity and include a copy of the person's
California driver's license or a valid photo identification issued by another state or
the United States government if the person is not a California resident.



+ Additionally, the licensee or administrator must submit the transfer request
before the individual has client contact or the facility will be in violation of the law
and subject to the $100 civil penalty.

* [f the licensee or administrator encloses a stamped self-addressed envelope for
this purpose, the Department shall verify whether the individual has a clearance
that can be transferred.

7. When the Livescan electronic fingerimaging system becomes “operational”,

all applicants will be required to obtain a background check clearance or
exemption before having any client contact. The Department will provide
a 30-day advance notice before this provision of the law is
implemented. For an interim period of time fingerprint cards are still
acceptable. We anticipate it will be several months before Livescan is fully
operational based on the definition of the law.

The following changes become effective January 8, 2000.

1.

Beginning January 8, 2000, in addition to the California criminal record check and
the Child Abuse Central Index check, a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
criminal record check will also be required for all new facility applicants, facility
employees, and volunteers. This is not a retroactive requirement. The FBI
check, which is processed through DOJ, is required of anyone who must have a
criminal background check.

The issuance of a new license will not be delayed if:

* All other licensing requirements have been met and the FBI clearance is
the only missing item, and

* Each individual has submitted a signed statement to the Department, as
part of the application, that he/she has never been convicted of a crime
in the United States, other than a minor traffic violation.

* If the Department subsequently determines that a person has a criminal record,
the Department may then revoke or suspend the license or prohibit an
individual's employment or presence in the facility.

. Subsequent to licensure, persons who are required to submit fingerprints prior to

their employment, residence, or initial presence in the facility must also submit a
second set of fingerprints for the purposes of searching FBI records.

* A licensee who fails to submit the required two sets of fingerprints to DOJ prior to
the person’s employment, residence or initial presence in the facility shall be cited
and assessed an immediate civil penalty of $100 for each person whose prints
were not submitted on time.



The Department will begin enforcing the first of these changes on December 9, 1999,
and the FBI requirement on January 8, 2000. The licensing regulations are currently
being revised to reflect this new law change. In the meantime, use the statutory

provisions contained in the Health and Safety Code Section 1522 as the citing
authority.




INFORMATION ONLY - NO ACTION REQUIRED

AB 575 (ARONER), CHAPTER 997, STATUTES OF 1999

Affects: Juvenile Court Judges, the Judicial Council, Probation Officers, Minors
Adjudicated a Ward of the Juvenile Court, Foster Parents, Relative
Caregivers, Legal Guardians, and Preadoptive Parents

Subject: Child Welfare Services

Summary: Establishes proceedings for reviewing the status of and, in certain cases,
terminating the parental rights of parents of a minors who have been adjudged wards of
the juvenile court and have been placed in foster care. It would require that foster
parents, relative caregivers, legal guardians, and preadoptive parents receive notice of
when children in their care are taken into custody, or of hearings when children are
being adjudged wards of the court. A review of their status would be conducted by the
court every six months. Permanency planning hearings would also be required,

AB 705 (ARONER), CHAPTER 772, STATUTES OF 1999

Affects: Transport Escort Services

Subject: Regulation of Private Individuals or Companies that Transport or
Accompany Children to Out-Of-State Residential Facilities

Summary: Amends Health and Safety Code Section 1596.653 to require that persons
must be TrustLine registered before they can accompany or transport children to any
residential facility or institution located outside the state. This requirement does not
apply to governmental agency employees or persons who transport minors under the
jurisdiction of the juvenile courts, or to family members who transport their relatives.

While the law requires that CCLD process these requests for TrustLine clearance it
does not give the Department authority to monitor compliance by the transport escort
service agencies, nor is the Department authorized to receive or investigate complaints.
These agencies are not licensed or in any way certified by the Department. If a District
Office (DO) receives a call from a parent wanting to make a complaint against a
transport escort service agency, the DO should explain that the Department does not
regulate these agencies. The parent’s options are to seek a private attorney or contact
their local District Attorney for possible prosecution of the agency for violation of the
statute.



ACR 7 (Battin), Chapter 13, Statutes of 1999

Affects: Business, Professional and Community Associations
Subject: Child Abuse Prevention Month

Summary: Establishes April as Child Abuse Prevention Month. |t is signified by a
Blue Ribbon Campaign to promote public awareness and prevention of child abuse.
Partnerships are encouraged to be created between business, professional, and
community organizations.

ACR 26 (Wayne), Chapter 27, Statutes of 1999

Affects: Grandparent Care Providers
Subject: California Safe Kids Week

Summary: This resolution established California Safe Kids Week for May 1 through
May 8, 1999, Due to the grandparent-focused safety awareness initiative within the
National Safe Kids Gampaign, brochures will be distributed by retail stores and the
Foster Grandparent program to help educate grandparents about safety and injury
prevention.

SB 955 (ESCUTIA), CHAPTER 634, STATUTES OF 1999

Affects: Group Home Providers, County Welfare Departments, Foster Parents,
and Schools

Subject: Child Welfare Services: Out-of-Home Care

Summary: This statute increases reimbursement rates for certain group home
providers for the 1999-2000 fiscal year. This legislation also encourages the state to
develop strategies to work more effectively with children who are alleged to be abused
or neglected: (1) Allow children to remain in their original schools, (2) Increase the
number and quality of foster families, (3) Use a team-based approach that includes the
biological family, (4) Ensure that licensing requirements do not create barriers to
recruiting appropriate foster homes, and (5) Provide training for foster parents on
working effectively with families and communities.



