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SUMMARY AND IMPLEMENTATION PLANS 
2008 CHAPTERED LEGISLATION 

 
CHILD CARE CENTERS 

AND FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES 
 
 
BILL NUMBER   SUBJECT       Page  

 
 

ACTION REQUIRED 
 

AB 978/Benoit 
 

Immediate Civil Penalties; California 
Department of Social Services’ (CDSS) use 
of civil penalty moneys; unannounced facility 
visits; Plans Of Correction; licensing report 
requirements 

1 

       
 
 
 

 

INFORMATION ONLY – NO ACTION REQUIRED 
 

AB 2327/Caballero 
 

Emergency Services:  Humanitarian and 
Relief Services  
 

5 

AB 2759/ Jones  California State Preschool Program  6 

SB 1629/Steinberg Early Learning Quality Improvement Act 7 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Unless otherwise noted, all new legislation becomes effective on January 1, 2009.  
When conducting visits, LPAs should ensure that providers are aware of any new 
requirements.  However, regardless of whether this information is provided, it is 
the licensee’s responsibility to be aware of any new requirements affecting their 
program. 
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ACTION REQUIRED 
 
AB 978 (Benoit), CHAPTER 291, STATUTES OF 2008 
 
Affects:   All Community Care Facilities, Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly 

(RCFE), Residential Care Facilities for the Chronically Ill (RCFCI), and all 
Child Care Facilities. 

 
Subject: Immediate civil penalties; CDSS’ use of civil penalty moneys; 

unannounced facility visits; Plan of Correction (POC); licensing report 
requirements.  

 
Summary:  AB 978, amends Health and Safety Code Sections 1523.2 
(Community Care Facilities), 1530.5 (Foster Homes, Certified Homes and Foster 
Family Agencies (FFA)), 1534 (Community Care Facilities), 1546 (Community 
Care Facilities), 1548 (Community Care Facilities), 1568.07 (RCFCI), 1568.0822 
(RCFCI), 1569.33 (RCFE), 1569.49 (RCFE), 1596.98 (Child Care Centers 
(CCC)), 1596.99 (CCC), 1597.56 (Family Child Care Homes (FCCH)) and 
1597.62 (FCCH) and adds Sections 1534.1 (Community Care Facilities), 1550.7 
(Community Care Facilities), 1558.3 (Community Care Facilities), 1568.0715 
(RCFCI), 1568.0825 (RCFCI), 1568.094 (RCFCI), 1569.351 (RCFE), 1569.510 
(RCFE), 1569.595 (RCFE), 1596.818 (Child Care Facilities), 1596.8867 (Child 
Care Facilities), 1596.8899 (Child Care Facilities) and 1597.58 (FCCH) and 
amends Welfare and Institutions Code Section 18285,  
 
AB 978 requires the assessment of an immediate civil penalty for designated serious 
violations at community care facilities, including Foster Family Homes, RCFCIs, RCFEs 
and child care facilities (CCCs and FCCHs).   
 
AB 978 requires the moneys derived from civil penalties imposed on child care facilities 
be deposited into the Child Health and Safety Fund (CHSF) and be expended 
exclusively for the technical assistance, orientation, training and education of child day 
care facility providers.  Revenues received by CDSS from payment of civil penalties 
imposed on all other licensed facility types shall be deposited into the Technical 
Assistance Fund and expended exclusively for the technical assistance, training and 
education of licensees. 
 
AB 978 mandates unannounced follow-up visits within 30 days after the effective date of 
a temporary license suspension or revocation, or within 30 days after service of an 
order of exclusion or removal of a person from a facility. 
 
AB 978 requires CDSS to ensure that a licensee’s POC is measurable and verifiable. 
The plan shall specify what evidence is acceptable to establish that a deficiency as 
been corrected. 
 
AB 978 requires CDSS to specify in its licensing reports all violations that, if not 
corrected, will have a direct and immediate risk to the health, safety, or personal rights 
of clients or children in care. 
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The bill requires CDSS to complete all complaint investigations and place a note of final 
conclusion in the file, regardless of surrender.  
 
The bill specifically addresses the following for licensed child care facilities (CCCs and 
FCCHs):  

 
1. Moneys for the CHSF created in the State Treasury are derived from the license 

plate program (Have a Heart, Be a Star) and from civil penalties on child care 
facility providers.  Moneys derived from civil penalties imposed on child care 
facility providers shall be made available, upon appropriation, to CDSS 
exclusively for the technical assistance, orientation, training, and education of 
licensed child care facility providers. 
 

2. Requires CDSS to ensure that a licensee’s POC is verifiable and measurable.  
The POC shall specify what evidence is acceptable to establish that a deficiency 
has been corrected.  This evidence shall be included in CDSS’ facility file.  
 

3. Requires that licensing reports specify all violations that, if not corrected, will 
have a direct and immediate risk to the health, safety, or personal rights of 
children in care. 
 

4. Requires CDSS to conduct unannounced facility visits within 30 days after the 
effective date of a temporary license suspension or revocation of a license to 
ensure that the facility is nonoperational (unless previously verified) and within 30 
days after CDSS serves an order of immediate exclusion or removal from the 
facility. 
 

5. For CCCs only: defines violations warranting an immediate civil penalty 
assessment of $150 per day, per violation, as follows: 
 

a. Fire clearance violations, including: overcapacity, inoperable smoke 
alarms, and inoperable fire alarm systems;  

b. Absence of supervision, including: a child left unattended, supervision of a 
child by a person under 18 years of age, and lack of supervision resulting 
in a child wandering away; 

c. Accessible bodies of water; 
d. Accessible firearms, ammunition or both; 
e. Refused entry to a facility or any part of a facility; 
f. Presence of an excluded person on the premises. 

 
6. For CCCs cited for repeating the same violation within 12 months of the first 

violation: the facility is subject to an immediate civil penalty of $150 for each day 
the violation continues until the deficiency is corrected.  Repeating the same 
violation again within 12 months, the facility shall be assessed an immediate civil 
penalty of $150 for each day until the deficiency is corrected. 
 

7. For CCCs: leaves in place existing law that provides the amount of civil penalty 
shall not be less than $25, nor more than $50, per day for each violation of this 
Chapter, except where the nature, seriousness or frequency of the violation 
warrants a higher or immediate civil penalty or both.  The civil penalty 
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assessment is capped at $150 per day per violation. In addition, the bill leaves in 
place existing regulatory requirement in Section 101195(c) that states an 
immediate civil penalty of $150 per day shall be assessed if a child becomes 
sick, is injured or dies as a result of a deficiency. 
 

8. For FCCHs only: defines violations warranting an immediate civil penalty 
assessment of $150 per day, per violation, as follows: 
 

a. Any violation that results in the injury, illness, or death of a child; 
b. Absence of supervision, including: a child left unattended, supervision of a 

child by a person under 18 years of age, and lack of supervision resulting 
in a child wandering away; 

c. Accessible bodies of water; 
d. Accessible firearms, ammunition or both; 
e. Refused entry to a facility or any part of a facility; 
f. Presence of an excluded person on the premises. 

 
9. For FCCHs: adds language to provide the amount of civil penalty shall not be 

less than $25, nor more than $50, per day for each violation of this Chapter, 
except where the nature, seriousness or frequency of the violation warrants a 
higher or immediate civil penalty or both.  The civil penalty assessment is capped 
at $150 per day per violation.  
 

10. For FCCHs cited for repeating the same violation within 12 months of the first 
violation: the facility is subject to an immediate civil penalty assessment of up to 
$150, and may be assessed up to $50 for each day the violation continues until 
the deficiency is corrected.  Repeating the same violation again within 12 
months, the facility shall be assessed an immediate civil penalty up to $150, and 
may be assessed up to $150 for each day the violation continues until the 
deficiency is corrected. (NOTE:  Regulations are required for implementation.) 
 

11. For FCCHs: authorizes CDSS to assess civil penalties of not less than $25, and 
not more than $50, per day per violation for uncorrected violations that present 
an immediate or potential risk to the health and safety of children in care.  This 
Section shall be implemented only to the extent that funds are available in 
accordance with the license plate program. (NOTE:  Regulations are required for 
implementation.) 

 
AB 978 became effective September 25, 2008. 
 
Implementation:   
 
Modifications to the Evaluator Manual and licensing forms will be required to implement 
these new requirements.  An Information Release will be released in early 2009 that will 
provide implementation instructions to licensing staff.   
 
Where noted, regulations are required for implementation.  
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Licensing Program Analysts shall advise licensees during comprehensive inspections 
that this new law is now effective and recommend that licensees become familiar with 
these new requirements. 
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INFORMATION ONLY – NO ACTION REQUIRED 
 
AB 2327 (Caballero), CHAPTER 361, STATUTES OF 2008 
 
Affects:   All Community Care Licensing Staff and Facilities 
 
Subject: Emergency Services:  Humanitarian and Relief Services 
 
Summary:  AB 2327 amends Section 8596 of the Government Code relating to 
emergency services.  This new law affects every state agency.  It recognizes that 
persons fleeing a disaster often lose access to their personal documents and 
identification, and seeks to ensure that such persons are not prohibited from 
obtaining disaster-related assistance and services as a result.  More specifically, 
this legislation does the following: 
 

 Requires all state agencies to provide all possible assistance to the Governor 
and the Director of the state Office of Emergency Services in implementing this 
law. 
 

 Requires public employees “to assist evacuees and other individuals in securing 
disaster-related assistance and services without eliciting any information or 
document that is not strictly necessary to determine eligibility under state and 
federal laws.” 
 

 Provides that nothing in this new law shall prevent public employees “from taking 
reasonable steps to protect the health or safety of evacuees and other individuals 
during an emergency.”   
 

AB 2327 became effective January 1, 2009.   
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INFORMATION ONLY - NO ACTION REQUIRED 

 
 AB 2759 (Jones), CHAPTER 308, STATUTES OF 2008 
 
Affects:  Child Care Centers serving Preschool-age children 
 
Subject:  California State Preschool Program 
 
Summary:  AB 2759 amended and added sections to the Education Code relating to 
child care and development services and shall become operative on July 1, 2009, only if 
SB 1629 was enacted and became effective on or before January 1, 2009.  AB 2759 
creates the California State Preschool Program by consolidating the current State 
Preschool, Prekindergarten-Family Literacy, and General Child Care and Development 
Programs that currently serve preschool-age children.  The consolidation of these 
funding streams creates the largest state-funded preschool program in the nation and 
will streamline the administration of state preschool programs.  This will help improve 
the efficiency and effectiveness of early learning program administration by creating a 
uniform and streamlined system of reimbursement for providers.  This bill does not 
change the requirements currently established in regulations.  
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INFORMATION ONLY - NO ACTION REQUIRED 

 
SB 1629 (Steinberg), CHAPTER 307, STATUTES OF 2008 
 
Affects:  Child Care Centers serving children ages birth to five years 
 
Subject:  Early Learning Quality Improvement Act 
 
Summary:  SB 1629 establishes the Early Learning Quality Improvement System 
Advisory Committee to develop recommendations on how to evaluate and improve 
the quality of child development programs providing services from birth to age five, 
including preschool, and establishes a framework for future resources necessary to 
achieve and maintain higher quality programs.  The advisory committee may also 
consider, but need not be limited to, a list of features of high quality programs 
including statutory and regulatory compliance, including provisions of Title 22 of the 
California Code of Regulations relating to child care and development.  The 
advisory committee shall consist of 13 members, one of whom shall be the Director 
of the Department of Social Services or his or her designee.  
 
This bill shall become operative only if AB 2759 is enacted and becomes effective 
on or before January 1, 2009.   
 
NOTE: AB 1629 shall become inoperative on July 1, 2011, and as of January 1, 2012, is 
repealed unless a later enacted statute that becomes operative on or before 
 January 1, 2012 deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes operative and is 
repealed. 

 
 


