Welcome to the California Department of Social Services

Right Column

Administrator Certification Program

The Administrator Certification Program is legislatively mandated and is designed and intended to upgrade the knowledge and educational levels of persons currently employed as administrators and persons wishing to become administrators of Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly (RCFE), Adult Residential Facilities (ARF), and Group Homes (GH) through a certification process. Administrators are individuals designated by licensees to act on behalf of the licensee in the overall management of their facilities. Licensees and administrators may be one and the same person.

The Administrator Certification Program is administered by the Administrator Certification Section (ACS) of the Community Care Licensing Division, Technical Assistance and Policy Branch, Technical Assistance Bureau. The ACS is comprised of the certification and vendor units. The ACS is also legislatively mandated to approve/disapprove all vendors of initial and continuing education training programs, including courses and instructors.

Forms | Fees | Contacts

The Department is accepting written public comment on the modified language to the draft update of the ACS regulations from October 7, 2015 to 5 p.m. on October 22, 2015. Go to CCL Administrator Certification Program to find the 15-Day Renotice Letter with Regulations and Revised Forms (with instructions on how to submit comments), Updated Informative Digest, and the Final Statement of Reasons (including the responses to comments received during the 45-day public comment period). 

Administrator Information

Application Processing Dates*

As of  10/05/2015, ACS is currently processing administrator applications received:

  • Initials – the week of August 24th, 2015
  • Renewals – the week of August 24th, 2015

*Note: If your application received date is not on or before the week listed above, please refrain from contacting ACS regarding application status until your week is posted.

Vendor Information